LAST CONFESSIONS

August 3, 2008 at 4:13 pm 12 comments

You know when it’s over, it’s over. It’s bittersweet. You say a lot of goodbyes, but boy am I glad to be going home. I’m sure I’m going to be useless for the next 24 hours, but that’s okay. I can’t wait to see my babies. But overall this year was a success for me. I’ve met a lot of people and for me that’s the whole point of going to National’s. You go to see your online friend’s and to make new ones, stalk your dream editor or agent *or La Nora*. It’s all in the name of promoting being a woman and being a writer. In all seriousness there is nothing more I could ask for from this conference.

Now the hotel is another story. Listen D.C. Marriott we are coming next year. BE PREPARED. RWA forewarns you. LISTEN. You are NOT equipped. Every hotel we’ve been to has said this after we leave. Every business in a five mile radius has said this. Don’t think maybe the other hotel just didn’t have good management. NO, you idiot, we descend. BE PREPARED.

That’s all I’m saying.

Now I must get on my train to take me back to the real world. I will no longer be extrovert Melissa. She’ll come out again next year. She’s going to need that year long rest anyway.

So, until next year ’cause trust me I’m counting down the days.

Entry filed under: confessions, RWA conference.

CONFESSIONS OF ROMANCE WRITER FROM NATIONAL’S: part whatever SO, WHAT HAVE I BEEN DOING?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise Patrick  |  August 3, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    You are probably gone already as I read this post, but just wanted to say it was great to meet you. I probably won’t be in D.C. next year, but I’ll be cheering you on. Hope you had a safe trip home.

  • 2. Pam  |  August 3, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    AMEN!!! To all of it. 🙂

  • 3. Jude  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Thank you for such a wonderful series of posts. See you in DC!

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:58 am

    The trip was safe, but they left my luggage in Emeryville. I have to wait to get it until later. I wanted to roll in all the books I received, but no go until I get my luggage.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:59 am

    Hi, Pam. I talked to one of the staff before I left. I told he they needed to call D.C. to tell them about us.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  August 4, 2008 at 2:01 am

    At the moment as brain dead as I am I CAN wait until next year. But you are welcome. I had a blast doing my confessions. I just might do it again next year. We’ll see.

  • 7. Jude  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    What do you think the hotels have been unprepared for? Is the RWA conference attendance so high relative to other conferences that they just don’t have a lot of experience with those numbers?

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  August 4, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    You know I just think they aren’t prepared for the packs of woman that come into the bar, restuarants, and the like. It’s just not one or two it’s four or five or more people in one group. Best example: When the Romance Divas desceded on this Italian restuarant. It was a reservation for 70 women. We weren’t quiet or reserved, but I bet money they got the best tips of their careers.

    On two fronts I think it’s the amount of people that come to the conference. *And they still have to serve their regular customers.* It’s also writers, agents, and editors are a different breed of people. At 2 o’clock in the morning even with the bar closed we will still be up yapping.

    On the other side it’s the room accomadations. It may be 2-4 people in one room. This Marriott sent out a mass e-mail saying they no longer had rooms with double beds. When I made it there on Wednesday some people had to wait until almost 4 o’clock to get into their rooms, because they weren’t any available/ready.

    So, to break it down: It’s the amount of people, the type of people and possibly that we come all at one time.

  • 9. Jude  |  August 4, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Thanks for the detes. 🙂

    I can’t imagine 70 Divas in one restaurant ….

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  August 4, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    You’re welcome. Now if only the hotels will just listen when RWA warn them that we are coming. It could also be why we are never at the same Marriott even if we are staying in a city we’ve been before.

  • 11. Marilyn Brant  |  August 6, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Oh, Melissa, you are SOOO right! That D.C. hotel has NO idea what’s going to hit it :).

    Great seeing you in S.F., even though it was brief and I was probably a blur (I spent much of the conference racing around!), but I’m already looking forward to next year… Hope you had a wonderful and inspiring time.

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  August 6, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    It was nice meeting you too. Maybe next year we can sit down in the bar and chat. I’m just hoping D.C. bar is like Dallas.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

