CONFESSIONS OF ROMANCE WRITER FROM NATIONAL’S: part whatever

August 2, 2008 at 9:39 pm 5 comments

You should know the deal by now….

1. I’m going to be on Author Talk. You know the funny online show Jill Monroe and Gena Showalter(sp?). Yeah, I’m the chocolate drop in the front. I totally used method acting. Could be from all those Actor Studio’s I watch. Stellar performance.

2. Snort to number 1. But I will be on there. Not so sure of the acting.

3. You cannot offer me all the free books in the world to be on my feet for a moment longer. There are 4 publisher signings going on right now. When I saw a lot of books. I mean a lot of books. But you can’t make me.

4. It could be all the alcohol I’ve consumed while here. I’m not certain, but I have a suspicion it has a lot to do with it. So for every one planning to go next year. Here’s some advice: Either don’t drink at all. Or start training before you go to D.C. You know kind of like before you train for a marathon. One drink at night. Then two. Until you can consume a fair amount and not feel like crap the next morning.

5. Yes, I know, I’m not completely sane.

6. Being extrovert Melissa is going to haunt me. I’ve been cracking jokes by the hour here. You know being my inappropriate self. There will be stories. Don’t listen to them. It’s all myth.

7. Snort to number 6.

8. I talked to my dream agent this afternoon. I didn’t make a complete fool of myself. You should be proud of me. Though I think I did have a deer in headlights look. She’ll definitely remember me. I’m not sure that’s a good thing.

9. I’m totally going to sleep after this post.

10. I’m totally still thinking of putting the comforter in my luggage. I wonder if the hotel will notice?

11. That’s all I’ve got because my brain is slowly leaking out my ears and I know I’m not the only attendee who feels that way. So, until next Confessions.

Entry filed under: confessions, RWA conference.

CONFESSIONS OF A ROMANCE AUTHOR FROM NATIONAL’S: part 3 LAST CONFESSIONS

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tabitha C. Maine  |  August 2, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Gosh, you’re having so much fun. I am so jealous but not in a bad way. I wish…I wish I were living the writer’s life too. When you get home and after you get a good night’s rest, can you tell us about your agent experience? What did she/he say? Did they say you could send a book? Was she approachable or did you have too wrestle her to the ground? Did she seem like, oh, God, not another writer? About the bedspread, I’d hate for you to get into trouble. They may just end up billing your credit card after you leave and the $40. spread could end up costing $300. And my final question, did you turn into a rock start sometime between the time you left us loosers in reality and the time you got on the plane heading for Nationals because you are having way to much fun?

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  August 3, 2008 at 1:35 am

    First, I’m so kidding about the comforter. That thing probably cost more than I get paid for a month. It’s staying unfortunately.

    Second, this agent has already requested my full. Another author I met introduced me to her. It was a two second conversation.

    Hi, my name is Melissa Blue. You requested a full.
    Why you haven’t you sent it to me yet?
    I’m getting it edited.
    *she nods her head* You should always send your best work.

    And that’s where the conversation ends.

    Lastly, I was a Rock Star before I left. Just no one knew it. Lol.

  • 3. Slave Driver  |  August 3, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Oh Mel, returning to the real world is soooo going to suck for you. Because I’m sure that, at least in my universe, the sink is full of dishes, the coffee pot is overflowing with mold, and someone stuck gum in the dog’s butt fur.

    Take all the fun hwile you can. As we say at my work, “Vagina Up”.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  August 3, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    You know it’s not going to really. I’m still exhausted. I’m just ready to be home. But definitely,”Vagina Up.”

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I SO want to use Vagina Up in a book! Oh and #4…SOOOOOO true. I drank more booze in Dallas last year than I did the three years of just normal living/drinking combined!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

