CONFESSIONS OF A ROMANCE AUTHOR AT NATIONAL’S: The prelude

July 29, 2008 at 1:55 pm 16 comments

*I’ve decided to do my tales of conference in confessional style.*

It has been such a very, very long time since I last confessed…..

1. My mother is ready to shoot me to put herself out of her misery. What she doesn’t know is that my level of excitement is only going to get worse.

2. Related to number 1: I know it wrong to wake someone up at 6:50 a.m. in the morning just to say,” This time tomorrow I’ll be on the train. Squee!!!”

3. It’s even worse to call that same person at 11:30 to say, “This time tomorrow I’ll be in San Francisco.”

4. 30 minutes later,” I’ll be in my hotel room.”

5. 30 minutes later,” I’ll be registered for the conference. Ooooh, I wonder what books they’ll put in the bag this year.”

6. 30 minutes later leaving a message on the person’s phone. (Yes, they have stopped answering the phone. I have no idea why.) “I’ll be drinking in the bar.”

7. In between these moments of pure excitement are moments of panic for many, many reasons. *Pam* My hair is sooo not done. At the moment I look like Buckwheat. I need to wash the rest of the clothes I’m going to wear. I need to double check that I’ve got everything. And really I’m going to conference and am aware I’m liable to put my foot in my mouth. Or get stuck with the Bitter Author. I did last year and saw no one to help me escape.

But I digress.

8. Uh, just a word of advice don’t take a class in summer school if you plan to go to conference. I have to take a final today. Which would normally not put me in a dither. Either you know it or you don’t by this time. But because of my little near death experience I missed a lot of class. So…there is a lot I don’t know. Cue panic button.

9. Okay, this is my last confession and I might as well admit something so…well…here it is: When I get home and the day is over I’m going to unpack just to repack so that I can feel the excitement of “I’m going to National’s” again. I’m sick I know, but I’m still doing it.

You can confess in the comments. Just do a few hail mary’s and you’re forgiven.

Entry filed under: confessions, RWA conference.

WRITING FOREPLAY CONFESSIONS OF A ROMANCE WRITER FROM NATIONAL’S: part 1 of part 1

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tabitha C. Maine  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    “Bitter Author?” Did I miss something juicy? Did you meet a bitter Author last time? What was she bitter about? Do share.
    I’m so excited for you. I WANNA GO TOO! If I buy a big suitcase with wheels will you take me with you? 😉

  • 2. Denise Patrick  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Good luck on your final and, if I see you cornered by anyone, I’ll rescue you. Have a great train ride and see you in SF.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Yes, last year I was cornered. Worse Susan Elizabeth Phillips was in my line of sight. Talk about a rock and a hard place. Thankfully the Bitter Author finally slinked off to whence she’d come and I took a picture with SEP.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Thank you, Denise. I’ll pull on my ear as the signal for help.

  • 5. Melina  |  July 29, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Our moms should talk. . .

    Good luck with the final and have a safe trip.

    See you tomorrow!

  • 6. Jude  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Unpacking and repacking just to relive the excitement… tell me you’re joking. 🙂

  • 7. Slave Driver  |  July 29, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Have a great time, Mel. Many many photos please. I done spent my money on Jackson, and I’m not a romance writer, but it would sure be fun to “meet” some of these folks I “know” in real life.

    My kid thinks I have imaginary friends.

    Sad…but true…

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Hi, Melina!

    I think that’s what will make this year better. I actually know more than five people.

    Can’t wait. Can’t wait.

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Slave-That’s what makes National’s great. Too bad I can’t see all my friends for a cheaper price. And yes there will be many photos.

  • 10. Slave Driver  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:53 am

    I have no photos from Jackson, just a pic of Bob’s jeep…because I have the same car. Pathetic, I know.

  • 11. Jude  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Yay to many photos! 🙂

  • 12. raine  |  July 30, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Okay, I confess…that if I were your mom, I would’ve bitch-slapped you by now. LMAO!!

    You sound like a little kid at Christmas, and good on you! I hope you have a ball, and meet all the right fairy godmothers. 😀

  • 13. Melissa Blue  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Slave, it’s embarrassing how little photos I took last year. But trust me I will haz fotos.

  • 14. Melissa Blue  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Raine, I really didn’t do that to my mother, because she would have driven me to San Fran last night just to get rid of me.

  • 15. raine  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    And people really go to these conferences to express their bitterness?
    WHY?? :-O

  • 16. Edie  |  August 5, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I missed all your blogs and I’m playing catch up now. I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips!

    Now I’m on to read your other blogs that I missed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

