UPDATES: New National’s To Do List

July 25, 2008 at 1:11 pm 8 comments

On my prior list I had:

2. Clean Out Books
3. Buy Shoes
4. Buy New Clothes
5. Order Things to Go into the Goody Room
6. Get Some Hair to Wear
7. Do a deep house clean
8. Buy Batteries for Camera
9. Bug Amtrak for Ticket

Now I’ve had almost two weeks to do all this stuff. It should all be done, right?

WRONG!

We are talking about me here. The ultimate procrastinator. I could teach on class on the one million ways you can NOT do the things you need to do. I have done 3, 4, and 7. But you know you can always buy more clothes and shoes. That’s what I plan to do.

Number 2 won’t get done any time soon. 8 and 9 will be done by tomorrow. 5 isn’t looking so hot at the moment.

Now I need to add stuff to this list:

1. Pedicure.

My feet don’t look like Flintstone feet anymore. (I’ve been scrubbing and wearing socks.) But you know I’ve had this flower painted on my toes for a very, very long time. I’m too embarrassed to say how long, but trust me it’s been a very, very long time.

1a. Get my eyebrows waxed. I looked in the mirror the other day. I’m on the verge of having a onezie.

2. Buy Pajamas for the Eharlequin Pajama Party.

I went last year and had a blast. Why break tradition.

3. Finish packing.

I’ve actually gotten a pretty good start on this. My Rita/GH dress and shoes are packed. Shirts and some pants. I need to wash everything else, because it was just too cute to wait and wear to National’s.

4. Buy some books for the train ride.

I hate traveling. I don’t care if it’s only an hour drive, but if I weren’t the driver I’d be asking “ARE WE THERE YET?!!!!!!!”

5. For the same reason above I need to buy a shiny new notebook and some pens.

God, I love Office Maxx, but I’ll restrain myself this time. I’m on a budget.

6. Scream occasionally “I’M GOING TO NATIONAL’S!!!!!” because my goodness “I’M GOING TO NATIONAL’S!!!!”

5 days and I’m sooooo there.

If you were wondering: I hit 14k this morning in the WIP. YAY!!!

Entry filed under: RWA conference, to-do list.

LEARNING TO WRITE OPENINGS BY WATCHING MOVIES WRITING FOREPLAY

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tabitha C. Maine  |  July 25, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    6. Get Some Hair to Wear
    Girl, whaz up with that? Your hair in the photo is beautiful. It looks like it has the potential to be wild and sexy. Don’t tell us that’s not a real photo of you and that you’re actually a farm boy from the midwest, cuz that wouldn’t be cute.

    Eharlequin Pajama Party
    I wanna gooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m so excited to hear all your news. I thought of two questions the other day, and I was courious.
    Warning if you answer these, a million more will follow unless you tell me otherwise. One thing first, my intention is not to pry into your personal business, it is from an educational standpoint that I ask, should I ever have the opportunity to be published.
    1) Will you be taking your own books to sign and sell to people?
    2) Will representatives from your publishing company be their with your books?

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    It is proper to e-mail such questions.

    melissablue@melissablue.net

  • 3. Pam  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    What Tabita said about your hair. 🙂

    5 days!!!

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Okay, beauty is pain, but in my case beauty is paid for in a nice bag that comes in hair form. I’d like to say I have those lovely locks and that God gave them to me.

    He didn’t.

    Instead I go to a hair store and get whatever lovely locks I’m in the mood for. Now if I’m just not that into buying her I’ll pull my real hair back in a ponytail.

    At National’s I will look nothing like that. (Oh, the beautiful smile God gave. Thank you.) But I will still look like the Diva I am. So, no frets. I’m not a boy, but if I could be one for 24 hours…..

    Lastly, Eharlequin Pajama Party
    I wanna gooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’ll take plenty of pictures so it will feel like you are there.

  • 5. Caryn  |  July 25, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    I can’t BELIEVE it’s so close! I can’t wait. Good luck with getting all this stuff done. You’ll get there. And, hey, if you have the new notebook, pens, and books, what more could you need?

    Good work on the new novel! 14k is terrific.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  July 25, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    A laptop would be fan-tab, but I don’t have one. So, absolutely NEW notebooks, pens and books can make me want to break out in song:

    It’s the Most
    Wondeful Time
    of the YEAR!!!!!!!!

  • 7. Tabitha C. Maine  |  July 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Lucky you, that you get to pick and choose hairstyles. My coarse hair can’t be beautified for anything. I tried to color it today. I was hoping for beautiful blond highlights. You can imagine; just pick any famous person with nice blond highlights, and you’ll know what I was going for. Instead, I have a strawberry head. *sigh* I’m going to have to deal with if for awhile for fear of frying my hair any further.

    Thank you for the protocal tip on the questions I asked. I was just curious about how writers sell themselves to the public at those fancy shmancy conventions. My email is anneanne@juno.com but seriously, you don’t have to answer. We can drop it. My guess, if it were me, is that I’d take a stack of books and sell..sell…sell, or beg…beg…beg.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  July 26, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Bad hair dye job? Ooooh, you have my sympathies. I once died my hair auburn. It wasn’t light enough so I bought a lightener. Oh, it did it’s job, but I walked around looking like a very bright penny until it grew out. I haven’t dyed my hair since.

    So, here’s hoping the color washes out quickly.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

