NOTEBOOK VS. COMPUTER

July 17, 2008 at 1:48 pm 14 comments

First sidenote(refer to post below): This is my hero, Eric Onasis. Or more of the essence of him. He has gray eyes and a dimple. But yes, he is that muscular. It’ll serve it’s purpose during the love scene. Sigh. He’s hot.

Second sidenote, I would like to point out this would make my 8th post for the month. Last month in June I had 8 post all together. I guess I am feeling quite chatty.

Anyway, to the topic. Yesterday, I got sick of sitting at the computer screen. My full-time job is a Data Entry Tech. I also swipe Foodstamp cards two days out of the month. I still have to record each amount at the computer. So, I don’t get a real break. Yesterday, I decided to do it the old fashioned way. Notebook and Pen. (Two pages) The same way I wrote when at National’s. (40 pages)

My question: Which do you prefer: Notebook or Computer?

Me? Computer, because I’m not a fan of transcribing my chicken scratch into the actual word document. The high point is when I’m transcribing I’m usually revising as I go. Sometimes adding. Sometimes cutting. Most times rewriting most of it to make it better.

So, Notebook or Computer? Or whatever is clever at the moment?

Entry filed under: heroes, writing.

YOUR EYES ARE NOT PLAYING TRICKS ON YOU MOTHERHOOD AND NATIONAL’S

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  July 17, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Absolutely computer–I can type faster than I can write, so the ideas flow in time to the output it seems. Plus, the faster I write, the more messed-up my writing gets and it starts to look like abstract art.

    Though, if the Girls call for it, I can write. Never turn down the girls when they’re throwing ideas at you.

  • 2. Mel  |  July 17, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    So, true. I don’t have a laptop, so when I’m in the first draft mode I always have a notebook handy to write scenes that come to me.

  • 3. Shelley Munro  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Computer for me, too. It’s so much quicker. I have an alphasmart that I take just about everywhere. It’s easy to whip out and jot down a few notes, but I can understand why you’d like a break from the keyboard.

    I have to agree about Mr. Hotness in the photo. He’s very appealing. šŸ˜‰

  • 4. Mel  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Whenever I look at the hero’s picture I just want to bite him. My heroine doesn’t even know how lucky she is…

  • 5. Chloe Devlin  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Heheh, I saw this and thought it was a choice between a notebook computer and a desktop computer. šŸ™‚

    But between pen/paper and computer, I’ll just say that it depends. Sometimes I prefer the feel of the pen as it rolls across the page. Other times I like hitting the keys.

    For editing, it’s all about the paper.

    Chloe

  • 6. Mel  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Interesting. I feel the same way when editing. I do what I can on the computer, but then it’s like a whole other ball game when I print out a hard copy.

    Go figure.

    And if I had the choice it would be the notebook laptop.

  • 7. CandaceM  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Melissa – I type out the mss. on the computer but rely on my trusty old notebook to do plotting, make maps, figure out family trees, etc. There’s still nothing better than a piece of paper and pen for some things! šŸ™‚
    Candace

  • 8. Mel  |  July 17, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Family trees? I feel like a slacker.

    There’s still nothing better than a piece of paper and pen for some things! šŸ™‚

    I agree.

  • 9. Vivienne Westlake  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Well, Mel, there are authors who actually make floorplans of buildings and apartments and maps of the cities of their characters and where they live in relation to each other. I’m not quite that advanced!

    As for writing, for many years, I was a pen and paper girl. Only in the last four years have I been able to write successfully directly into the computer. I can edit on screen, though I do admit that sometimes it is easier to catch certain mistakes on hard copy. But, when I have to re-write whole sentences or paragraphs, it annoys me to re-write on the MS. But I usually have a notepad handy in case I want to jot down story ideas or write a scene while I’m out and about.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  July 18, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I’m not quite that advanced!

    Neither am I, but if helps them get the words on the page I won’t knock them (I’ll just think to myself how strange.)

    But, when I have to re-write whole sentences or paragraphs, it annoys me to re-write on the MS.

    Really? I think it gets to the point for me I can’t make real changes to the ms on the computer. I can’t SEE the story. Does that make sense? Anyway, I’ve been know to draw an arrow and flip that page over and write out the changes. It’s something about the hardcopy that frees me in a way.

    Lastly, I think writers have put Post-Its and Index cards in business for life.

  • 11. Cynthia  |  July 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    My stories all start out on paper. As a matter of fact as I’m typing this my right arm is on an open notebook. Okay so the notebook has the quickly jotted down scarf pattern instead of writing but the point is, I always have an open notebook, or a pile of filler paper on my desk.

    My writing started, a long time ago in a land far far away (high school) on paper and I have a hard time moving away from it. Once I’m deep in story it’s on the computer and I write from the keyboard but the beginning is all about pen to paper.

    Oh and thank you so much for the eye candy this morning.

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  July 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    You are welcome. I read this post just to look at him. Oh, and if you scroll down you’ll find one more eye candy.

    Second, I think I’m more open to whatever because when I first started writing all I had was a typewriter. I’m talking in this day and age. 2004 to be exact. I just wanted to write. I NEEDED to get the words down and that’s all I had. So, now if all I have is a pen and paper who am I to complain? That typewriter was loud.

  • 13. Edie  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Computer. My PC. I have a laptop too, but I get a crick in my neck when I use it too long.

  • 14. Melissa Blue  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Welcome to the crowd, Edie.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

