MY NATIONAL’S TO-DO LIST

July 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm 10 comments

So, I’ve really looked down at my calendar I’ve got 15 days to get ready. (The actual day of the conference I better be ready. So, yes, just 15 days.) I realized that yes flying by the seat of my pants may work with writing. It cannot work the same way (well) when it comes to traveling. I’ve decided to make a to-do list:

1. Make National’s To-do list: check

2. Clean out my closet full of books.

This has a two-fold purpose. I have every intention to bring back LOADS of books, but, um, I already have LOADS of books. Something has got to give. The good thing is I already have a new home for them. Usually I take these cast-offs to the library. They have yet to arrest me for my overdue fines, because of this act of charity.

3. Buy shoes.

Last year I bought 8-10 pairs of shoes. Brought them all and only wore 3 of them. Why break traditon?

4. Buy new clothes.

I broke a suitcase in the process of packing. Again, why break tradition?

5. Order things to go into Good Room, which includes pens and bookmarks. Since it’s so late in the game probably just pens.

Now I can’t do anything until I get paid. The money in my savings is my spending money for National’s. I promised myself I would touch it. Again. But, I’ve got a craving for a burger (and no cash) so who knows how this will play out.

6. Go get some hair to wear.

Now you may think this is strange. Why go get hair when you have hair? It’s complicated just trust me. It’ll look like mine.

7. Do a deep house clean.

It’s really, really, really tempting to not do a deep clean, but my mother is coming next Wednesday. ‘Nuff said.

8. Buy batteries for camera.

This blog post was really supposed to be about shoes, but I didn’t have batteries, so I couldn’t take pictures. Now this just may be the excuse I can use to withdraw money from my savings today. YAY! Plus I’ll be taking a million and one photos at National’s those batteries will come in handy.

9. Bug Amtrak for my train ticket. NOW.

My train leaves at the crack of dawn. They like to give you your tickets right before you get on. I really don’t like that.

10. Find out the nearest computer cafe place is or some place where you can use a computer for a SMALL fee. There is no way in hell I’m paying a million and one dollars to use a computer at the hotel. ‘Nuff said.

Now, I’m sure I’m missing some things on my list. You can make suggestions in the comments. Batteries and a burger. Yup, I’m hitting my savings once again.

Entry filed under: RWA conference, to-do list.

GALLEYS HANG-OVER FOR JUDE: Another Homage to National’s

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Last year I took about 12 pair of shoes. Seriously, it was sick. I wore like 3 pair the entire time. Maybe 2. Sandals. Comfy platform ones.
    Take comfy shoes.
    Google for the nearest Starbucks and interent cafe before you leave. Also the nearest post office in case you get so many books you can ship them back media mail–cheap but slow.

  • 2. Mel  |  July 14, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    The 3 pairs of shoes I were comfy. The only time I broke out my other ones was when I went with my sister and wanted to look cute. I have no family in SF so all my events will be National’s related. It will also include walking, so I think this year I’ll be taking it easy.

    And thanks I will search for the nearest internet cafe. I checked out the hotels website and if you bring your own computer they will charge you like $10-12 to use their wireless. That’s insane. I can only imagine what they will charge if they have their own computers.

  • 3. Edie  |  July 14, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Mel, I read this blog first and was going to comment, then saw the cover below and had to read it. (Great cover!) I inadvertantly talked about National on my comment for the other one. But, yes, comfortable shoes are a must. Except, perhaps, for the GH/Rita ceremony.

  • 4. Mel  |  July 15, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Well, I did learn one thing from last year. Take only what you need. You will accumulate the rest AT National’s.

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Someone posted a list somewhere of nearby shops/resturuants etc. Hopefully I can find it.

    Also…get a pedicure!

  • 6. Mel  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:12 am

    I’ve been looking at my feet the past two weeks thinking, “Wow, I have Flintstone feet.”

    So, yes, I forgot to put that on my list.

  • 7. Patricia W.  |  July 15, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Get a manicure. Then you’ll have CUTE Flintstone feet.

    Have fun at Nationals!

  • 8. Pam  |  July 15, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    I love your theory of Why Break Tradition! I remember the photos from last year where Little Miss Diva (I think) was sitting on your suitcase so it could be closed.

    And I cleaned out my books this weekend, too. Great minds!

  • 9. Mel  |  July 15, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks, Patricia. My feet have no hope, but they can at least look smooth. 🙂

  • 10. Mel  |  July 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Yes, Little Miss Diva did help me get my suitcase closed*after I broke the first one*

    As for cleaning out closet full of books, well it’s necessary. You have to make a pile of keepers and books you now realize you’ll never read. Just to make room for new ones that will end up being keepers and books you’ll never read. It’s a vicious cycle.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

