SERIOUS LINKAGE: A National’s Homage

July 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm 8 comments

First I would like to say I feel so much better. Thanks for the get wells.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock your whole life you know there is this event, a big one you might say, coming up.You know the one major event (outside of the RT convention, in America) that leaves every Romance writer abuzz. It’s the one time where you can pay One Grand + to see all the friends you have on the Internet. Yes, baby I’m talking National’s. In about a week I can guarantee you won’t be able to read a blog that hasn’t mentioned this grand event. Whether it’s joy, jealously, or disdain it doesn’t matter. The romance blog world is about to become National Central.

Of course, I have to join in. I probably won’t be as helpful as Pam, a fellow Cherry, and friend, who is doing a How To National’s series. I’ll try to at least be entertaining.

But first let’s take a look back when I placed a counter on my blog and proverbially wet myself. I then chose a dress (four days before National’s.) And then I had a Neurosis of Major Proportions. I mean it’s not every day you get to stalk, I mean, meet your favorite authors.

And then finally I got ready for National’s at the last minute as possible. I didn’t sleep that night. My mother walked into the living room at 4 a.m. and rolled her eyes at me. Now my lovely mother NEVER rolls her eyes, but at I was clapping like an idiot repeating, “IMGOINGTONATIONAL’S!!!!!” every five freaking minutes. You could say I was excited.

But have you ever dreamed of something and it was more than you imagined? Well, that’s how I felt my first day. I have a sneaking suspicion it had a lot to do with The Goody Room.

AND THEN I GOT TO MEET ALL MY FAVORITE AUTHORS!!! Well, outside of Jennifer Crusie, but I’m glad we’ve yet to meet. I’m sure I’ll make a spectacle of myself. I’ll even might do a “I’m not worthy!” at her feet.

I digress.

Now, yes National’s is beyond exciting, but there comes a time when you have an overload. Where your brain cannot take another spike of fangirlism. You have to sleep it off, but you probably won’t, because by that time (Friday) publishers are gearing up to give you books. FOR FREE!

But like all good things, they must come to an end. Some of your dreams (like, me stalking, I mean meeting LA NORA) come true. That last day is sad for all around, but be sure to keep an ear out for the scandals. Those are just as entertaining as the actual event. But National’s is just so great that you can’t wait for it to come around again.

Ladies and gents 21 more days and it’ll be here. Dear. God. I. Can’t. Wait!!!!

To warn you for the next 21 days 90 percent of the blogs will be about National’s. Ad Nauseum, but I promise to do it with my gentle humor. *snort*

Oh, almost forgot go here to check out other blogs that will be blogging about National’s.

Entry filed under: linkage, RWA conference.

THE COUCH AND I PROMOTIONAL ITEMS: Why Procrastination should be one of the 7 Deadly Sins

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  July 9, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    WOOT! WOOT! 3 weeks and counting! WOOT!!! And I’m linked to Melissa’s blog–double WOOT!!!

    IT’S NATIONALS, BABY!!! Bring it on!

    (I hide my panic under overly-exhuberant squeals of joy.)

  • 2. Mel  |  July 9, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    What is there to be panicked about? Oh, are you meeting editors and agents? You brave writer, you. Well, you have three weeks to breathe in a brown paperbag.

    Other than that I have no advice.

  • 3. Cynthia  |  July 9, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    So, what you’re saying is, there might some mention of Nationals in the next week or two?

  • 4. Mel  |  July 9, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Cynthia-Maybe in passing. You might get lucky and get another post just dedicated to National’s. *snort*

  • 5. Pam  |  July 10, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    The panic is how freaking much I have to get done between now and then! Clothes, hair, pitches, research, edits…yeek!

  • 6. Mel  |  July 10, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Pam-Pitches as I pointed out are insane to do. Much kudos to those people.

    What research?

    Edits, yeah, they suck when you are trying to do them well, but efficiently. If you don’t get them done by National’s don’t beat yourself up.

    And I’m supposed to have my clothes and hairstyles ready? I thought that was stuff reserved for the very last minute. *I don’t even have a dress* Well, I have one, but it was the one I was going to wear last year. I think I’m going to talk my mom into tweaking it for me. It’s backless. Trust me, you don’t want to see me in a backless dress. *shudders*

  • 7. Katie Reus  |  July 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    So jealous you’re going 😉 Can’t wait to read your updates!!

  • 8. Mel  |  July 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    No jealously needed just start saving your dollars. Really. RWA is so worth it. IMHO.

    But if you still feel the need come back by in a few days. I’ll show the backless dress. On a hanger of course.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

