THE COUCH AND I

July 5, 2008 at 11:59 pm 6 comments

I had a near death experience this week. It’s a long story I rather not get into. So, the short story of the long one is that I’m on the mend. On the couch until Monday. My ass and the cushions have become close friends.

One good thing about being sick and sickly is the fact I have a million and one books I’ve yet to read. I finally read Garden Spells that I received from National’s last year.*good read* Another book I threw across the room when the heroine let her mother-in-law pick her engagement ring. An engagement ring the heroine did not like or even find appealing, so that the heroine wouldn’t create waves. WTF? But now I’m reading The Smoke Thief and I have to say I’m very satisfied with my new choice.

The other VERY, VERY high point of being sick this week is that Law and Order: Criminal Intent is having a 14 episode marathon on USA. Detective Goren. My heart be still. I’m in hog heaven. If no one else will understand Erica Orloff will. *hi*

The other high point is that I get to use my children as maids. Mommy doesn’t feel well so clean the bathroom, kitchen and living room. HA. Pay Back IS a mother.

Another high point: See Megan Run is going to galleys. OH MY FREAKING, BLEEPING GOSH, I’m beyond ecstatic. I’m looking at two more read through. TWO!!! And then I’ll never have to read this book again. EVER!!!!

The very last high point (I mean I have to find a silver lining in being winded from walking to the bathroom and back to the couch) is that I have all these magazines sitting around waiting to be cut apart for a collage. My daughter loves collaging stories with me. I tell her about my story with my pictures and she creates her own story with her pictures. Then she sighs like the diva she is.

Yes, if I had a choice I would rather be back to my old self, but really who could complain with all these options of lazing around. I’ll check in next week to brag about National’s and me being there. (ha, another silver lining. I did not have this near death experience during the week of National’s. I would have been crushed and 500+ dollars wasted.)

Hog heaven. I tells ya.

The couch cushions is calling my ass again. I must go. And really Detective Goren is probably smelling a dead body as we speak. I don’t need more coaxing than that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

VERY, VERY, QUIET SERIOUS LINKAGE: A National’s Homage

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  July 7, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Aside from the whole “near death” thing, it sounds like things are going well–the kids are cleaning, Dectective Goren is smiling and See Megan Run is printing. (And 23 days until Nationals.)

    Living the dream! 🙂

    P.S. In all seriousness, glad you’re still with us.

  • 2. Mel  |  July 7, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    P.S. In all seriousness, glad you’re still with us.

    So am I. And the Diva cleaned so well yesterday. She is going to be so disappointed to know the living room is now her chore. Hog heaven.

    And I’ll tell you the story at National’s. It’ll be depressing so we must have drinks near by.

  • 3. Jess  |  July 7, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I’ll miss meeting people at Nationals but maybe next year – DC isn’t far from me, and if my agent hunt progresses the way it’s been… I’ll certainly have the incentive. (You nearly die, you miss a lot ’round the blogosphere.)

    I’m glad you’re okay. I knew you’d said you were busy and would be silent but… scary. Scary scary. Don’t do that again, okay? *hugs*

  • 4. Mel  |  July 7, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Jess-My mother and I decided that an experience I had is enough to hold me over for 5 lifetimes. So, if God is willing and the creek don’t rise I won’t do THAT again. 🙂

    It’s still up in the air if I’ll be at the DC conference. You know, National’s is just so expensive. Seriously, I can take a vacation to the Bahamas, with my two kids, for less than what I spend to go to National’s. But if I final in the Rita’s (because I plan to enter) then I might be persuaded.

    Lastly, thanks for the hugs. You can never have too many.

  • 5. Edie  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    OMG, Mel! So glad you’re okay. I’ve been thinking of you, but have been really busy lately and didn’t get over here. So scary.

    Otherwise, love your attitude and so glad things are going so well. I read Garden Spells and loved it. I read Sarah Addison Allen’s follow up book and thought that was great too. 🙂

  • 6. Mel  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Yes, very scary, but really I’m on the mend. (and so glad I am. I never want to feel that way AGAIN. EVER)

    As for Garden Spells I was really surprised by that book(the writer in me started to pick it apart and then I got wrapped up in the story). I’m definitely going to pick up the next book. Maybe if I’m lucky she’ll be at National’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

