IT’S AGAINST EVERYTHING I BELIEVE IN *sometimes*

June 20, 2008 at 8:19 pm 11 comments


Somewhere on the blogsphere, where I will not name names, a writer has confessed to reading the last page. On one level I can understand. Why waste time on a book with a crappy ending? Hey, it was even endearing to see Harry in When Harry Met Sally all those years later still reading the last page in the bookstore. But in real life what kind of traumatic childhood does a person have to have in order to read the last page? It’s sacrilegious (not really, but work with me here). Why can’t you just be surprised? Why go and ruin all the writer’s hard work building up to the very end by reading it? First!!!

Are you that type of reader? If you are I’m sure you dog-ear pages and think bookmarks are for sissies.;) Go at it in the comments.

Oh, I should confess:

1. I know I’m not naming names, but I’m a fan of this author

2. And…Harry Potter… the last installment…I soooooo read the last page. But that’s different. Really.

Okay, now go at it in the comments.

Entry filed under: Harry Potter, open season, other great blogs.

I SHOULD BE WORKING I’LL NEVER BE JUNE CLEAVER

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  June 20, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    This is a HUGE no-no for me!!! NO NO NOOOO NO reading the last page. It’s like watching the end of a movie to see how it ends before you…well you know.

  • 2. Mel  |  June 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    So, I’m guessing you don’t read the last page. Lol. I don’t either. Harry Potter was the only exception.

  • 3. Erica Orloff  |  June 21, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    LOL! So you outed me. 😉 Actually, I outed myself. And all my psychologically bent reasons.

    And . . . I think it’s this latent fear of being disappointed that drives me to read physics texts for FUN instead of fiction. At least when I write my OWN books . . . I know what I’m getting.

    🙂

    E

  • 4. raine  |  June 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Nooo, I don’t read the last page, lol.
    But got no problem with those who do. It’s their dime. 😉

  • 5. Mel  |  June 22, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Erica- You know that’s why I’m surprised that I don’t read the last page first. I hate surprises. If I wasn’t ever surprised, ever again in my life then it would still be too soon. So, I guess I only like surprises when they are going to be good surprises. May be why I get a visible eye twitch with WTF? endings.

    And I had to out you. I like to think of it as an intervention. 🙂

  • 6. Mel  |  June 22, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Raine, welcome to the club. Lol.

  • 7. Kate Diamond  |  June 24, 2008 at 2:12 am

    This is actually why I can’t finish Libba Bray’s trilogy. I made the mistake of flipping to the back to find out what happened to my favorite character. Bummer.

    I usually only do that when I’m (a) eagerly anticipating the book or (b) not exactly sure who I’m supposed to be rooting for (yes, I realize this is a bigger problem if you can’t identify the hero of a romance novel, but still…)

  • 8. Mel  |  June 24, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I’m not sure if it’s reading the last page made you stop reading or the knowledge the ending sucked. (I’m sure it’s the latter.) And that’s why the author who shall not be named reads the last page. Eh, your reasons sound just as valid.

    Lastly, just step away from a romance novel where you don’t know who the hero is. I can almost guarantee you will not like the ending. lol.

  • 9. Emma Petersen  |  June 29, 2008 at 5:08 am

    But in real life what kind of traumatic childhood does a person have to have in order to read the last page?

    Roflmao. I don’t read the last page. I can’t. I really can’t. I don’t even like accidentally skiping ahead a few pages.

    Now movies, if I’m watching a dvd I’ve been known to fast forward and skip to the ending a time or two.

  • 10. Anonymous  |  July 1, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Mel, to answer your question “Are there any June Cleaver’s out there?” I always thought my mother was. She died 15 years ago.

    As to writing and, most importantly, reading romance novels or novels in general. I would never, ever, read the last page first. The thrill for me is reading the book – finding out who the characters are, their motives, their hang-ups, what makes them them, you know. I’m in awe of anyone who writes well, who creates characters you could die for, or write so well that you, as the writer, say “That was beautiful!” or “How did she do that?”

    Mel, in reading your blog, you sound hilarious, but in a good way!

    I wish you all the best in your publishing journey.

    Always remember what Michelle Styles says determination will get you there.

    As you have been doing this for a while, I’m sure you know that getting their emotions, motivations and goals down is very important, as you mentioned – SHE HAS A GOAL! Then you can layer in all the internal and external conflict. You’ve got to have internal conflict going or there’s no story.

    Again, I wish you all the best!

    Jamie

  • 11. Marianne Arkins  |  July 12, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    I absolutely, totally, always, every last time — with a NEW writer — read the last page.

    If it’s a writer I know, love and trust… I give them the benefit of the doubt. Until they betray my trust, **cough** Karin Slaughter **cough**, in which case I chuck the book against the wall and never read them again.

    Man, I’m harsh.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

