CHOOSING POV: ACCORDING TO GENRE

June 4, 2008 at 1:42 pm 8 comments

So, I’m reading over See Megan Run and it hit me, I didn’t follow the usual set up when it comes to sex scenes. I chose two povs for the first one, but the second one is in the hero’s POV. Now when I wrote it I wasn’t consciously thinking “I’m going to write this outside the box”. It just felt right to have it in Aiden’s POV. To me it’s definitely his love story. (which screwed me in the edits because I had to go back and flesh Megan out. But that’s neither here or there.) The common thing in romance is to have it solely in the heroine’s POV or both, or have it in the heroine’s and the after glow is in the hero’s POV.

Why did I make this choice?

Outside of it feeling right, I don’t know. After writing so long in a given genre the rules become ingrained. In romance the hero/heroine must meet quickly. There must be sexual tension. Something must keep them apart until they can get their HEA or Happy For Now (which some may disagree belongs in romance, but that’s another post.) I have to say most if not all sex scenes are in the heroine’s POV. Does that make it predictable? No, because usually she has the most to lose, which is one of the rule of thumbs you use to chose POV. I soooo didn’t follow that rule of thumb, but when I thought of my hero and heroine “closing the deal” writing it in the hero’s POV was just to heartbreaking to pass up.

Will I get flak for not having the heroine’s POV during the love scene nor having an afterglow scene?

Probably, but I think it’s important to write the story keep what fits and worry about the genre rules later, if at all. Also, I made it worse for myself for when the heroine does what she does. I took a huge chance that many readers will throw my book at the wall. Hey, I’m even ready for the WTF hate mail, but it felt right for the story.

So, what is the point of this post?

Hell if I know. But tell me whose POV do you write the sex scene’s in? And why?

Entry filed under: craft, POV.

AAAAHHHHHHH! BRAIN DEAD

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  June 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    It depends….I’m flexible *snicker*

    Seriously, I am like the BIGGEST rule-breaker evah when it comes to POV so I’m totally the wrong person to ask.

    I recently asked a friend to beat-read Hooked and the first thing she said was, “OMG it’s all in third person. You’re the only writer who does a first person that I like and you go and do all third WTF.”

    Nuf said.

  • 2. raine  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:05 am

    I’ve done both. Generally, the first sex scene is from the heroine’s pov–but I’ve done the hero a couple of times.
    No reason, went with the instinct. Maybe female readers like the idea of putting themselves in that place.
    But I will have at least one sex scene from the hero’s pov. I like getting into their heads about it, exposing those soft underbellies.

  • 3. Mel  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Amie-You should have hit her with, “A writer must always spread their wings.”

    Most of the rules of genre are really guidelines, but at the same time it’s readers expectations. But then again if it’s a damn good story they won’t even noticed you broke the rule or broke your own rule of writing in first person.

  • 4. Mel  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I like getting into their heads about it, exposing those soft underbellies.

    I think that’s one of the great things about choosing the male POV in any scene. It also may be the reason why people aren’t fond of first person when it comes to romance novels. Again it’s readers expectations. They want to see the soft underbelly of the hero.

    Then again I wrote a first person romance disguised as humerous women’s fiction(i.e. chicklit). I’m so not the one to ask.

  • 5. Jess  |  June 5, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    If I wrote sex scenes, I’d tell ya. But I don’t write sex scenes, so I’ll comment on POV in general.

    I write third multiple POV, but my latest story decided to be third omniscient, focusing on one character at a time in a scene but definitely omniscient. I’m still wrapping my brain around it. (Though if I did write sex scenes, think of the fun I could have with this POV style… or don’t.)

  • 6. Mel  |  June 6, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Bless you, Jess. I have no idea how I would begin to write in third omni. And that sex scene would be interesting….

  • 7. Pam  |  June 7, 2008 at 3:25 am

    I try and do at least one of each. As the story progresses, each sex scene should mean more to one character than the other and that’s whose head I want to be in.

    And my last book was a 1st person with a sex scene, so we’ll see how that plays in Peoria!

  • 8. Mel  |  June 7, 2008 at 7:25 am

    Those scenes will be fine. I do find it interesting some people don’t feel comfortable writing sex scenes in first person.*coughlanicough* Or they are very short to the point. I’m not sure it’s because most first person’s are WF, but even women in WF need some loving. So, you are brave one grasshopper.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

