AAAAHHHHHHH!

May 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm 4 comments

I believe speaking of the devil usually brings him to your door. My editor sent me back See Megan Run for yet another round of edits. The high point is that she’s specific in what she wants to see changed. I’m also cutting as much backstory I can as I go. I know that’s going to make her scream (for formatting issues), but I’m still trying to salvage my reputation. I can list all the things that I could have done differently, but I think writing this story was a lesson for me.

1. The story should always come first.
2. Don’t let being and staying publish screw up your belief system.
3. Just because you wrote THE END doesn’t mean the story is ready.
4. Don’t complain about a book on your blog. Vent on your writing forums only.
5. It’s probably all in your head. (When it comes to the quality of your story.)
6. When in doubt add more dialogue.

So, I’ll let you guys know when I have a release date, because trust me I’m going to promote this book like none of what I said ever happen. I will be open to hate mail or even for you to tell me I must have lost my mind because it is a good story. Yup, that’s the note I’m leaving this post on. I didn’t promise the ending would be cheery.

Have a great weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’M BUILDING CHARACTER, REALLY!!! CHOOSING POV: ACCORDING TO GENRE

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    LOL@ #6.

    I like the new photo, btw. 🙂

  • 2. Mel  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Well, I find number six to be true. Write to your strengths and all that jazz. Also the thanks should go to Pam for the new picture here. She mentioned I looked fan-tab, but thank you for the compliment.

  • 3. Pam  |  June 1, 2008 at 3:18 am

    I have every confidence in you and your writing. See Megan Run is going to be fabulous! Woot for you!!!

    And now that it’s bigger (and I can SEE the dang thing!), I love your new photo even better. I adore your new do!

  • 4. Mel  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Thanks again, Pam. You need magnifying glasses to see the pics on the WWFWFs.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

