I’M BUILDING CHARACTER, REALLY!!!

May 28, 2008 at 1:25 pm 10 comments

WARNING: Umm, this is a post after a funny post. Lower your expectations.

So, I’m waiting on word from my editor, which isn’t so bad. This is our last book together. If you never lost an editor then I can tell you it sucks butt. She loved How Much You Want to Bet? enough to contract the story. She saw potential in See Megan Run and pushed me to do whatever it would take to make that story shine the same way How Much does. She’ll always be my favorite person breathing. Second, I’m waiting on word on the PARTIALS I’ve submitted.

So, what am I doing while grass grows?

I’m spending time in my head. One of the best ways to write a book. No, really. I’m still on the revising wheel with I Said Never and was blindsided with an incredible character insight that I can add to the character. Okay, I stole it from real life. If you have been around here longer than two seconds, you know I can sometimes be funny. In real life I’m a hoot. When I’m irritated or angry there is no stopping me.
So, why not give that trait to my character? Well see how that goes.

And I’ve given up on my romantic comedy. The spark for me to write it just isn’t there. I can’t see what the next scene is going to be, much less what the heroine’s next turning point will be. I’m all for pushing through writing a story, but I’ve lost interest not once, but three times to write this story. I know my process. I lose interest around 5k or 10k then like a bolt of lighting I can get through the book long enough to finish it. I’m still waiting for that bolt of lighting.

So what have I turned to?

Another humerous women’s fiction. And guess what? I know all four turping points. I even have a glimmer of the end. Now it’s all about finding out who this character is. All that does is circle me back to writing in my head. Hours of daydreaming. Asking insightful questions: who is this person?

All in all, lollygagging.

Oh, and I should mention I stole the opening scene from real life. This character meets with a nutrionist and is told she must go on a “life change” diet.

What do you call this stage in writing? Procrastination is not an answer. Go at it in the comments.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’M NOT A DREAM CRUSHER AAAAHHHHHHH!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. david santos  |  May 28, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Hello, Mel!
    I loved this post and this blog.
    have a nice day

  • 2. Amie Stuart  |  May 28, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Simmering..or perking *ggg*

    You’re cookin’ jambalaya babyyyyyyyyy

  • 3. Pam  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Yea! The Keebler Elves book. I’m so happy!!!

    It’s not lollygagging–it’s called “replenishing the creative well.” Embrace it.

    And give Little Miss Diva an extra hug from her mommie’s #1 fan.

  • 4. Mel  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Thanks, David. I’m glad you liked it.

  • 5. Mel  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Ooh, Jambalaya sounds good and not in the writing sense.

  • 6. Mel  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Yup, the Keebler Elves will definitely have a scene in this book.

    And I’ll be sure to give Little Miss Diva a hug for ya.

  • 7. Jess  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I don’t think it’s refilling the well, exactly — I do that with reading, singing, other creative endeavors — it’s more like directing the flow of the well. I call it percolating, and it’s a very valid stage of the process. Without it, there would be no rest of the process for me. I’m percolating right now on a new character. I don’t feel like jumping into the second Choir book (of course there is one) straightaway, and I’m still revising the first, but I need to be working, thus… percolating a new story.

  • 8. raine  |  May 29, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I also call it percolating, and yes, it’s an important part of the creative process.
    It’s only lollygagging if you’re jumping from one project to the other every other day, or using it as an excuse not to write ANYTHING.

    (Raine, who was supposed to see a nutritionist weeks ago, but she’s lollygagging about it…)

  • 9. Mel  |  May 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I call it percolating, and it’s a very valid stage of the process.

    I like that. It kind of makes me think of coffee. You have to wait for it to be done before it’s any good or at least to get a full cup.

  • 10. Mel  |  May 29, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    It’s only lollygagging if you’re jumping from one project to the other every other day, or using it as an excuse not to write ANYTHING.

    You know I had to really sit down and ask myself that question. I have to accept that my interest are no longer soley for romance. I think I kind of wrote myself in a corner and lost interest. I think now I’m trying to find my own niche. Right now it’s humorous women’s fiction with heavy, heavy romantic elements. Maybe in six years it’ll be something else or back to traditional romance. Who knows.

    Lastly, stop lollygagging with your health.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

