LIFE AFTER DEADLINE

May 1, 2008 at 3:20 pm 10 comments

It’s amazing the things you can enjoy after you turn a book in and you don’t have black cloud hanging over your head. Like:

1. Watching Family Guy. This show is beyond inappropriate, but I like it.

2. Pointing out this out to your child, “Hey, look at that lady digging in her nose.” You guys get to laugh together and then act like you weren’t laughing at her when she turns around.

3. You lose that wild eye-eyed look.

4. When your other kid catches a stomach bug you don’t think, “this is going to screw up my writing time.” Instead you think. “I need a drink.”

Last, but not least…

5. You get to take a break from writing. YAY!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

YOU’RE FIRED CONFESSIONS OF A ROMANCE AUTHOR: part whatever

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  May 1, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Hooray for you!!! Let the girls relax and soon they’ll be sending up new ideas to torture you with.

    And Family Guy? I’m with you–it makes me laugh with how over the top it is.

  • 2. Mel  |  May 1, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Stewie makes the show for me.

    What the deuce?

    And the girls are already badgering me with revising I Said Never. I’m up to chapter 5 and I like what the book is turning into. I’m really adding an extra layer of funny. And weeded out awkward phrasing. I can’t do much about the grammar issues, because I can only fix what I know is wrong.

    And I still need to finish Getting Over Mr. Wrong, but at the moment I don’t have a scene in mind. It doesn’t have a deadline it needs to be done. (just sometime in my LIFETIME) So, I’m taking it easy.

    And I’m absolutely loving it.

  • 3. Katie Reus  |  May 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    If it wasn’t for Stewie, I’d never watch it!! 🙂 Congrats on meeting your deadline. I’m currently waiting on first round edits from two separate editors so until then I’m trying to cram in as much new writing as possible!

  • 4. Mel  |  May 1, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Two editors? Jeez, and I thought my life was crazy time. And yeah, it’s something about knowing you are about to be bombarded that makes you use your time wisely.

    Good luck.

    And thanks. I think I’m going to have post-deadline glow for a while.

  • 5. Ilana  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    You survived!
    And still have internet access.
    Have they not cut you off yet? Or did you find someone better.

    Have a great stress-free weekend.

  • 6. Mel  |  May 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Ha, I’m using someone else’s internet to feed my addiction. I should have my new internet tomorrow.

  • 7. Caryn  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Congrats on getting the book turned in and enjoying your well-deserved time off! Of course, I’m certain that within a surprisingly short amount of time you’ll be wild-eyed again, this time with a new idea that you’re desperate to flesh out and begin writing down!

  • 8. raine  |  May 2, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Congrats and enjoy, doll. 🙂

  • 9. Mel  |  May 3, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Caryn- it’s a vicious cycle. So I tis to be true. But right now, I’m not wild eyed.

  • 10. Mel  |  May 3, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Thanks, Raine. I WILL!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

