YOU’RE FIRED

April 29, 2008 at 5:55 pm 7 comments

This a reenactment of actual events. Names have been changed to protect the not so innocent.

Internet Provider: Hello, how may I help you.

Irate Customer: I want you to cut off my internet.

IP: May I ask what’s the problem?

IC: I’m paying you 40 bucks a month to get “Cannot connect to Internet”

IP: I can set you up an appointment for someone to look at your modem.

IC wavers: What days do you have available?

IP: We have an appointment for the times between 6-7.

IC: In the morning or in the evening.

IP: Both actually. The appointment time is 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.

IC:

IP: Would you like for me to set up that appointment for you.

IC: You can cut off my internet service.

…..So, if you don’t hear from me you know why. I’ll be trying another provider.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

NO INTERNET, AND THE APPROACH OF D-DAY LIFE AFTER DEADLINE

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marianne Arkins  |  April 29, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I’d like to say I’m surprised… but, I’m not.

    Good luck.

  • 2. Ilana  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Good grief.

  • 3. Mel  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Marianne- I’m guessing you had to fire an Internet provider?

    Yes, you’ve got to do, what you’ve got to do.

  • 4. Mel  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Ilana-Well, I was thinking more of the line “Are you smoking crack?” after she told me about the appointment schedule.

    But I don’t think that’s PC.

  • 5. Pam  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Good luck–if you do manage to get them cut off, be prepared for tons of emails and calls begging to have your patronage back. That’s almost more irritating than not getting service!

  • 6. Mel  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Well, this company is actually pretty good about cutting off service when you call in and ask. But if you don’t pay your bill for a few months they’ll let it rack up to some ridiculous amount.

    “…be prepared for tons of emails and calls begging to have your patronage back.”

    That would be more irritating. The high point. The e-mail account I created through them I never use.

  • 7. Caryn  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Wow. That’s completely unacceptable. Of course, then you’d probably get more writing done. I know I would, at least. (Like now, for instance. I could be working on chapter three, but instead I’m commenting on your blog.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

