THIS JUST MIGHT BE MY BESTSELLING BOOK

April 14, 2008 at 1:49 pm 8 comments


But at the moment it’s just the book from hell. Let me explain. So I revised this book about two weeks ago. (Or at least it felt that long ago) I no longer had the Word trial version so I ended up using WordPerfect. They have “track changes” and I used it. I made lots and lots of changes. I felt I had seriously progressed with this version of See Megan Run. I’m showing her motivation. I’m explaining things in deeper detail. I’ve even added a whole scene.

But what they don’t tell you (or it could just be my jacked up version)is that once you close down the program the track changes disappear. Oh, all the changes you made are there (thank god or I would have thrown in the towel completely), but so is everything you deleted from the ms.

So what am I doing now?

Reading through SMR yet again, cleaning up all the vestiges of the last version, but I’m going by memory. So help me when I am done with this book I’m not going to write for three months. I swear I’m not. This experience has been like Chinese water torture. I’m even starting to warm up to the cover. The world is going to end soon, but first I’m going to turn in this damn book.

BTW, my stomach is feeling much better.

Entry filed under: revising, See Megan Run, the book from HELL.

CHOOSING THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED HOW IS THE AGENT SEARCH, YOU ASK?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  April 14, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    You can d/l OpenOffice.org from java. it’s like microsoft office but free and works just the same

  • 2. Marianne Arkins  |  April 14, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Yep… try Open Office.

    http://www.openoffice.org/

    I don’t use it, but I’ve heard lots of good things about it, and it’s compatible with Word.

    Hang in there. I survived two complete computer crashes, losing pretty much everything I’d ever written (yes, it took me TWICE to learn to back up my stuff regularly). You can survive Megan.

  • 3. Mel  |  April 14, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Amie-I think Word Perfect was created just to screw with writers. I mean it’s a great software if you don’t care what format your saved document might look like when you open it again. It’s even great if you work in the law field, AGAIN as long as you don’t care the formatting WILL BE SCREWED UP.

    So, yes, I think that’s what I’ll do for my lunch, because I’m telling you I’m not going through this story AGAIN to fix mistakes I’ve fixed TWENTY BLEEPING TIMES!

    Sorry for the all caps, but it’s apt for the moment.

  • 4. Mel  |  April 14, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks for the support, Marianne. SMR will not be the end of me. I won’t let it, but I am going to take a serious break from writing.

    Speaking of backing things up, I need to save it on my flash drive.

  • 5. Pam  |  April 14, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    I happen to think you’d write a fabulous YA book. (While you’re taking a break that is. Ahem.)

    Smooches!

  • 6. Mel  |  April 14, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Pam- YA? Not a bad idea. I always wanted to, but never got an idea for one.

    But the whole point of the three months is not to write. Which I already won’t happen. I give it two weeks then I’ll be back to the grindstone.

  • 7. booklady  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Oh, Mel! What a pain! I’m sorry that this process has been so difficult. I can only hope that someday when you are a famous author with tons of bestsellers behind you, you will be able to laugh at the pain that was See Megan Run instead of cringe. Oh, and I happen to like the cover. It’s cute.

  • 8. Mel  |  April 14, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    You know every writer has to have at least one of these. Mine just happens to be my second book to be published. I’m going to read through it tonight and send it off to another Beta. It’s either sink or swim after this. Because honestly I’d rather fix it now, than to have a book reviewer tear it to shreds.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

