CHOOSING THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED

April 11, 2008 at 3:56 pm 14 comments

I’ve had a lot of down time this week. My stomach has been giving me trouble. A condition I’ve had for the past year.(Not quite an ulcer, but it might as well bleeping be an ulcer) So usually it lays me out too sick to do anything else but cry, whine, moan, and think.

So what have I been thinking about?

Well, besides wanting to delete See Megan Run from my computer…

It could have been this time last year I started to consider e-pubs. Not that it was so hard to break into Big NY houses. Just that you only have so many options when you don’t have an agent and when my mss were barely breaking 30k. That was a very good career choice for me. Either let my mss sit and rot on my computer or see if my work is saleable in the right market.

See that’s the key. Breaking into e-pubs isn’t any easier. Trust me you will get rejected if you story is crap. Or even if the story isn’t crap, but you didn’t present the best work possible. It worked for me going this route. Heck, I still may go this route if I write the kind of story perfect for this market. For instance the short story I’m working on that involves a witch.

Anyway….

Right now for me I’m hoping to break into another market. Single Titles and Women’s Fiction. Bigger romances. I’m not sure if E-pubs are the way to go. And hey, I’m materialistic enough to want an advance. So sue me.

What I want to know is what road did you choose? Or what road are you choosing to go?

Entry filed under: musings, See Megan Run.

WORD TO WISE: If I don’t tell anything else THIS JUST MIGHT BE MY BESTSELLING BOOK

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I think, IMO for ST Romance you could go the e-pub route if you wanted but for Women’s Fic I’m not sure if there’s much of an online market.

    I started out writing shorts and jumped to single title novels. I sold to Black Lace and then LSB…and then Kensington for whatever that’s worth.

  • 2. Marianne Arkins  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Baby steps are good, and ePubs are the best place for short stuff and work that doesn’t fit into the box of print pubs.

    Me? My next full length novel is aimed toward HQ. We’ll see how that goes.

    Good luck! And, hope you feel better.

  • 3. Mel  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Amie-First thanks for the heads up on Good Reads.

    Also, I’m interested in the overall career moves authors have made. I should have asked was the transition easy from e-pubs to Big NY pubs.

    Either way, thanks.

  • 4. Mel  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks, Marianne. I hope I get better too. I’m sick of having these attacks.

    Back on topic. Good luck on your submission.

    I’m guessing most authors want name recognition(i.e. long lasting careers) whether they are starting with an e-pub or going straight for BNYs.

    I guess the real thing I’m wanting to know is if I made the right decision to go to an e-pub first.

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  April 11, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    FWIW the stigma attached to epubbing first is gone. Editors even said this last weekend at the conf that they knew young editors who were buying and reading ebooks to find new authors.

    If you’re not epubbing just for the sake of having your name on something but are actually getting something otu of it/taking it as a stepping stone and learning experience then no I dont think it’s a misstep!

  • 6. Edie  |  April 11, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I agree with Amie. A friend of mine, Sharon Long, aka Maya Banks, started in epub, and she’s doing pretty good now. You go get that great agent and NY publisher. She did.

    That’s not my way, mostly because I don’t write books that would sell well on epub. I write more mainstream books, so those are the agents and publishers I’m going after.

  • 7. Mel  |  April 11, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Amie-For me the reason I chose e-pubbing is that my book didn’t fit other markets. E-pubbing was perfect for my book. Now if How Much You Want to Bet? was anything over 80k+ then I’d be lying.

    Also, I do like to think of e-pubbing (at least for me) is a stepping stone. I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned about working with an editor. Heck, about grammar and working with a deadline.

    Plus, it’s more of an intimate process working on your book with a smaller publisher. I can say I never felt like someone got more marketing than me because they rolled in the big bucks. It’s kind of an even playing field.

    E-pubs are great. But the same thing that makes them great is the downside. I just wish they had a bigger market. I’m never going to see my book translated in any other language.

    Catch 22 and all.

  • 8. Mel  |  April 11, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Edie- Trust me I am working on it. I haven’t racked up this many rejections since I started writing as I am agent searching.

    And I wish when I sold I had a nugget of knowing where I wanted to go with my career. I was just thinking, “This book is never going to be published in a regular market.” Not, “I want to write these kind of books, so I need this kind of publisher.”

    You live and you learn.

    Oh, and one of these days I’m going to talk you into letting me Beta Read.

  • 9. raine  |  April 12, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Honey, you’re a young thing, and just getting started–you have plenty of time to make up your mind.
    And don’t you DARE delete that ms. Save it somewhere else, if it’s bothering you that much–but save it.

    What road have I chosen?
    It’s that longggg-assed road, way in the back woods somewhere. The gravel one, next to the creek that dries up when the summer gets hot, and the skunks walk on the side and look at you like, “yeah, I bet you’d BETTER go ’round”, and the road-kill is the only color besides dusty, and…
    Ok, you get the idea. šŸ˜‰

    Fwiw, I think e-pubbing is a great way to go, starting out or already established. And there’s nothing that says you can’t submit to both that and to print pubbing.

  • 10. Mel  |  April 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Raine-First, I can’t delete the ms. It’s the one I’m supposed to turn into my editor on the 30th. Unfortunately, I’m stuck with it.

    Also, It’s that longggg-assed road, way in the back woods somewhere. The gravel one, next to the creek that dries up when the summer gets hot, and the skunks walk on the side and look at you like, “yeah, I bet you’d BETTER go ’round”, and the road-kill is the only color besides dusty, and…

    That’s just hilarious. I know I’m young and I have all the time in the world, but I still like to know all my options. I like to see how others got there because maybe it’s a road I can go, but twick it just for me.

  • 11. Jess  |  April 12, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Completely random but – have you heard of GERD? Sometimes it can FEEL like an ulcer. >.> (not like I, uh, suffer from GERD or anything over here. Yehup.)

    That said, I have one short story sold to an epub. When I write a full-length I think is saleable, I plan on trying agents first just because I’m a frank traditionalist. The thing is, I’m just not there yet. If I write another shorter piece (novella or whatever) I’ll probably sub to more epubs for the reasons you already laid out.

  • 12. Mel  |  April 13, 2008 at 12:49 am

    Jess, completely random, but the symptoms has the makings of it. But this time I have numerous other symptoms.

    That said :)It sounds like we have the same type of idea when it comes to planning out our career. Right now it’s working for me, but when it doesn’t….

  • 13. Edie  |  April 13, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    LOL Some day I’ll take you up on the beta read — and you might be sorry. I get obsessive about certain passages, rewrite them and resend at least three times. Mostly my beginnings.

    I hope you’re stomach is feeling better. I’ve had an ulcer in the past, and when I have too much caffeine, I start feeling the twinges, so cut back again.

  • 14. Mel  |  April 13, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Edie- Lol. You taint your Beta’s that way. But yeah I understand.

    Also, I had Jello for breakfast, so things are looking up.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

