I HAVE TO MANY BLEEPING BOOKS

April 6, 2008 at 5:34 pm 13 comments

I was invited to join Shelfari. I’ve heard of this site and decided to go for it.

What’s the harm?

Well, I started with Nora Roberts since I know most of her titles I have off the top of my head. Then I added authors who I have more than one title from: Jennifer Crusie, Lani Diane Rich, Jayne Ann Krentz, Robert B. Parker, John Grisham, Debbie Macomber, Tami Hoag, Jude Deveraux, Mary Higgins Clark, Diana Holquist.

I stopped and realized hey I have 93 books already. So I start to pull out books from the two crates I have in my bedroom. The number kept soaring. I got up and looked in my bookshelf and thought, “I have a shitload of books.”

I can’t say I’m shamed. I knew what I was doing when I bought all these books. And then I started to think of how much money I’ve spent over the years. I could probably put my kids in college, hire that personal trainer I always wanted, have enough money to lease a BMW, have a maid, quit my day job, start saving up for that breast lift when I turn 45, and start my own bookstore.

So to make a long story short, I have 285 books on Shelfari and that’s only 1/4 of the books I own, not counting the books I’ve read but down have.

Dear baby Jesus.

Entry filed under: books.

ANOTHER BLEEPING MEME WORD TO WISE: If I don’t tell anything else

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  April 6, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I’m on Shelfari and haven’t had time to list any books. lol I gave away huge bags of books a few months ago. I still kept a ton.

  • 2. Mel  |  April 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Before I go to RWA conference this year I have to get rid of at least 100 books. I’ll probably donate a good half to the library. But then all I plan to do is acquire 100 more from the conference. It’s a never ending cycle.

  • 3. Marianne Arkins  |  April 6, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    My rule is that I can only have as many as will fit on the one bookcase I’ve alloted for “keepers”. Of course, I do have **ahem** another bookcase for my TBR stuff, because… well… they’re NOT keepers. Yet.

    *G*

  • 4. Mel  |  April 6, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    My rule is that I can only have as many as will fit on the one bookcase I’ve alloted for “keepers”.

    I’d also find a way around that one. I’m going to start a Bookaholics soon. Care to join?

  • 5. booklady  |  April 6, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    And of course the next question is, what percentage of all of those books have you read? Because I don’t know about you, but I have a habit of buying books that I end up not reading. Or, at least, not for a very long time. But since I bought them and still haven’t read them, I can’t get rid of them. Not until I’ve actually read them. It’s an addiction. Still, you have to read a lot in order to be a good writer, so it’s an expense associated with the job, right? Also, there are worse things to spend your money on. Everybody splurges. Books are your splurge. And you’re setting a fantastic example for your kids.

    Enjoy Shelfari! I’m on Goodreads so that I can keep track of all the books I read, whether or not I own them.

  • 6. Mel  |  April 7, 2008 at 1:58 am

    And of course the next question is, what percentage of all of those books have you read?

    About 60 percent I haven’t read. And yes I do tell myself I cannot get rid of those books until I read them. The other 40 percent are keepers so I can’t get rid of those.

    As I’ve stated it’s a never ending cycle. Totally agree it’s an addiction.

  • 7. Kate Diamond  |  April 7, 2008 at 2:02 am

    I know how you feel!

    Recently I hosted a brunch, and had some people over who couldn’t believe how many books I owned. “Have you read all these?” they asked incredulously.

    I held back my smirk, but they were looking at my two bookshelves like it was some great task. This is to say nothing for the eight boxes of books upstairs, the countless I’ve read at the library, and the many books I’ve taken back to the used bookstore!

  • 8. LaDonna  |  April 7, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Hey Mel, I like your place! And I dream of a library in my home one day. Ya know, one of those cool rooms with a fireplace and sliding ladder with floor to ceiling cubbyholes. Hmm, must be watching too many old movies. But, wouldn’t it be lovely?

  • 9. Mel  |  April 7, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Kate-If I counted all the books I’ve read I think even I would be shocked to know the number.

  • 10. Mel  |  April 7, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Ladonna-The real reason I love Beauty and The Beast is the library scene. I swear I drool every time. I’d love a hairy man too if he gave me a library like that.

  • 11. Jess  |  April 7, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Oh, I sympathize, Mel. Truly, I do.

    We own over 1,000 DVD’s (that includes boxsets of TV shows, not just movies).

    And then people wonder why I never buy books? Dude, we live in a one-bedroom apartment.

    The worst part is we DO own crates and boxes and shelves full of books as well. >.< Every time I look at my walls, I just think, “There’s our house down payment right there.”

  • 12. Mel  |  April 7, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Jess, admitting it you have a problem is the first step.

    “There’s our house down payment right there.”

    Maybe I can creat one of those finacial figures they do when they try to encourage people to stop smoking.

    Okay, 285 x 3.50 (average price for a used book plus if I bought it new.)= $997.50.

    *faints dead away*

  • 13. Ilana aka Karen at WWfW  |  April 19, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I too own too many books…
    Every time I move, men arrive to pack the boxes of books, take one look, and sigh. It makes me feel bad. But I’ve read most of them. And I keep only the best. If public libraries didn’t exist, they’d need another truck.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

