ACCORDING TO DMV I’M A GOOD DRIVER

March 28, 2008 at 6:49 pm 10 comments

*snort* Today I went down to renew my license. If I didn’t go down today on Monday I’d be screwed. (My birthday is on Sunday and that’s when my license expires.) Now let me explain, when I’m actually doing something illegal, like u-turns in front of fire stations or residential streets or when I’m half-way through a yellow light and it turns red, the police are no where to be found. But the moment my tailight goes out I’m stopped at least ten times before I can make it home. So I had one of these tickets, I paid it off, but it was still on my record. Here’s how the scene played out.

Perky DMV Lady: That’ll be 28 bucks.
Me: I thought it was 21
PDL: The rates went up recently.
Me: mumbling what I think of rates under my breath
PDL: Now if you’ll just go over there to get your picture taken and oh, make sure when you’re done you go take an 18 question test.
Me: What?
PDL: An 18 question test.
Me: (thinking of 80 year olds who keep getting their license renewed and they can’t see out of their left eye.) And when did you guys start that policy?
PDL: Well, it’s standard if you’ve had a ticket or accident that you have to take another written test, just 18 questions.
Me: It took me two times before I passed the first time I took that test. I haven’t even read a recent book.
PDL: We won’t be open on Monday. It’s a national holiday.
Me: My license expires Sunday.
PDL: Good Luck!
Me: mumbling about the damn fix-it ticket, explicits included
PDL: Have a nice day.
Me: refrainining from telling her where she can put her nice day.

Out of 18 questions you can only miss three. I pulled out a quarter and flipped it for the answers I didn’t know. I passed. Me. *snort* This is why I pay my tax dollars. Have a great weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

THE SOUND OF CRICKETS TURNING 21 FOR THE THIRD TIME AND A FAVOR

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  March 28, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Don’t hate me, Melissa, my dear, but in Arizona we don’t have to renew our license until we hit 65. Yes, you heard me correctly–one license (and hairdo and weight listing) until you’re 65.

    I can’t say that I mind.

  • 2. Mel  |  March 28, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    &*(#(#_@, What? I think in Caifornia we have to do it every five years. I’m sooo moving to Arizona.

  • 3. raine  |  March 29, 2008 at 7:22 am

    We have to renew occasionally, just because the county likes to collect extra taxes–but this “18 questions” stuff?
    Gawd no!

  • 4. Mel  |  March 29, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Yup, extra taxes is the motivation for most of these “rate changes”.

    But the thing that really kills me about the 18 question test was that it was for a broken tailight. That has absolutely nothing to do with me being a good driver, it just means I had a crappy car.

  • 5. Pam  |  March 29, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Car profiling! You’re being targeted! I think it’s a conspriacy…

    Sounds like the beginning of a book!

    (And keep in mind all of the white-hairs in Arizona who have been driving on the same license up until they’re 64 years and 364 days. Yesh!)

  • 6. Mel  |  March 29, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Okay, I don’t want to move to Arizona anymore. Now I’m scared to drive through there. Lol.

  • 7. Caryn  |  March 29, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Congrats on passing! And it’s ridiculous to ticket people for having a tail light out, though the cops around here do that sometimes, too. Honestly, sometimes people just don’t know. A headlight, maybe, but even then people should be given a little leeway to get it fixed. But a headlight?

    When I moved to this state and had to get my license changed, I had to take a test. It had thirty questions, but it was *open book*. Yeah, like you can just open that little manual when you’re in the middle of a highway, paging through it to see who has to yield when two lanes are merging?

  • 8. Mel  |  March 30, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Lol. One of my questions asked about a “light rail vehicle” I was thinking WTF? What in the hell is a light rail vehicle. There isn’t a glossary in the manual how in the heck do I know.

    Sometimes California is just ridiculous.

  • 9. Edie  |  March 30, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    We have to renew ours, but I’m not sure how often. Every few years? It’s just another way to suck in our money. These are the fees that keep going up so they can say they don’t raise taxes. *rolling eyes*

    Glad you passed. You should have bought a lottery ticket. It was your lucky day. 🙂

  • 10. Mel  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:41 am

    I can agree, because I feared I’d have no license for a while until I could pass the test.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

