BETA READERS, AGENT SEARCHES, AND ANXIETY

March 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm Leave a comment

First let me explain what a Beta Reader is. A B.R. is someone who reads your book and they will tell what worked, what didn’t work, what the hell were you thinking while penning this novel, because really you had to be on drugs.

Last week I sent I Said Never to a Beta Reader. The person has never read my work before and I’m kind of glad, because ISN isn’t like anything I’ve written. Neil was head strong and prickly. Phoenix is just prickly. I know not everyone is going to like her or find her morbid humor amusing. And since I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read ISN since I finished it in September (October?), I can’t tell you whether or not it’s a good novel or even if I caught I the damn typos.

As for my agent search…I’ve receieved two rejections and two have been sent back with for failed delivery. The rest I’m not sure if I’ll ever hear back from them.

Can someone say anxiety?

I hear it’s good for writers to have anxiety. I think that’s just a lie. And since I’m anal, I’m going to put a call out for other Beta Readers. You can e-mail me at melissablue (at) melissablue (dot) net. From what they say you can never have enough anxiety.

Entry filed under: agents, anxiety, Beta Readers.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Jewel Adams THE SOUND OF CRICKETS

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

