WRITE QUESTIONS: Jewel Adams

March 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm Leave a comment

Sorry about the small font and the weird spacing. My HTML is pms’ing. That’s neither here or there. Without further ado…

When did you start writing?

It seems as if I’ve been writing my whole life. I always wrote stories even as a child. I began writing romance novels in the late 1970’s because I kept reading wall bangers and decided I could write better than what I was reading. That book is still under my bed and will probably remain there forever LOL. Writing wasn’t quite as easy as I thought it would be.



What was the defining moment that made you sit down and start writing a book?

That came after about my third try at a novel. One thing about writing, it gets in your blood and if you don’t write you just aren’t complete. I remember that I sent out this one story to various publishers, following all their guidelines. Weeks turned into months and months into over a year until I finally received answers. The rejection letters just made me more determined to write the perfect book.

What made you take yourself seriously?



The internet really became my jumping off point in my writing. I found a wonderful group of fellow romance writers and we started the Angels Critique group. I think we all finally received honest evaluations of our work. Problems in our writing became clear and they were fixable. If an author can find a group like this it can be very beneficial.



Because of the internet I took my writing one step further, I wanted input from readers. I began to serialize my novels, for free, on the internet through email. I sent installments out each week and received feedback from hundreds of readers that for me proved invaluable. The installments were really popular in Pakistan :).

What have you learned about writing that shocked you the most?

That no matter how well you write, how great your characters and stories are, you still need to reach the readers. The internet has brought readers and authors together in a way that has never been done before. It is wonderful, you can talk to your readers and hear what they think of your stories.

Yet, even with this wonderful communication tool an author must still find ways to get their books into the hands of readers. When you write that book, do all the edits and finally finish it, most authors think they are done. Promotion is the hardest part of being an author on the net or in the stores.

What sub-genre(s) did you gravitate to when you first started? Is it the same as now and why do you think it’s changed or stayed the same?

I always loved the gothic and historicals, and all my first tries were historicals. But when Time Travels hit the shelves I was hooked from the get go. I read every time travel I could get my hands on and then I wondered if I could write one. My first one was DREAM LOVER, that one proved to me that I could write them and I haven’t stopped. There is just something exciting about a character being thrown back in time and having to survive. The adventure brings the era to life. They have modern knowledge, but can they use it? If they do, will it change history or get them thrown into an insane asylum? Worse, accused of being a witch.

I do write in many of the other romance genres: erotica, gothic, paranormal, fantasy, suspense, contemporaries, westerns. I love to write them all, but Time Travels will always be my favorite.

What advice have you gotten that you live by?

To believe in yourself. It is the hardest obstacle for an author. You have to believe you can write and do it, don’t hesitate and never doubt your own ability or imagination.

What advice would you give a newbie (if it’s not the same as above)?

Follow your heart and believe in you.

What’s you’re writing process? Has it changed since writing your first book?

I think every author/writer has their own method in writing, there is no right way only your way. For me a story starts with the title and the first sentence. I don’t outline, I write the story as it unfolds in my mind. Sometimes I can’t write fast enough to keep up, thankfully I can type faster than I write lol. But there is nothing more exciting that those hand written note paper pages. I can usually write anywhere from 3 to 10 thousand words at a sitting when I’m into a story. I never worry about spelling or grammar, the important thing is to get the story down on paper.

As I write the story and after it is finished I do a huge amount of research for the story’s setting, the era politics, what the country is like, wars, disease and clothing, clothing is a big one especially for our modern day heroine who is now forced to wear a corset or other binding device.

I weave the history and research into the stories so that it becomes part of the whole, remember above all your story is a romance. Once the story is completed the hard edits take place and there are always more than a couple.

What keeps you writing?

I love it. For me writing is my life, when I am not writing it usually means that life has taken over lol. I don’t think the day goes by without a story or multiple stories running through my head. The one that yells the loudest usually gets my attention. I write to share, I would give my stories away just to have readers to enjoy what I’ve written.

Do you have a support system? Do you have a writing community? What valuable lessons have you learned from them?

My writing community is the internet and all the wonderful and supportive people I have met.

I’ve learned that they all aren’t going to love every story, but they always have a favorite and that is all that matters.

Define success for yourself?

Success is having a reader tell you how much they love your story. Or that they are in love with your character, usually my dark heroes lol.

What’s your comfort reads?

When I write I never read the genre I’m writing in. This usually means I will pick up a contemporary novel as I’m writing historics with the time travels or gothic.

Who are you reading right now?

I’m actually reading a book on Quantum Touch and another book on Folk Tales. I think I’m always researching 🙂

What book(s) that makes you want to write better (or stop writing because you’ll never be that good)?

Constance O’Day Flannery is an author that started out doing a series of Time Travels. If I ever write as well as her I would have accomplished my goal. She is a fabulous story teller.

Plug away…



I just finished my next Time Travel, SCARLET RAVEN and what an exciting adventure in time! This story took over eight years to finish and research in all areas. I started writing this one long before Pirates of the Carribean came out, I think my pirates are much more realistic and they do a lot more than just kiss, lol.

SCARLET RAVEN by Jewel AdamsCorin McCloud stows away on a refurbished schooner, the Raven. The journey barely begins when a violent storm rolls over the schooner, throw-ing her world upside down and lands her in Charlotte Amalie, 1725.Rogan Drake spent the last two years building his reputation as the infamous pirate Dragon, in order to revenge his brother’s murder. He forgoes following the pirate Billings, to keep an eye on a girl that just entered the city. She certainly wasn’t from here, not dressed so openly. “Brave little woman, but hardly wise.” The exotic shape of her eyes reminded him of a wild cat. Add in the sensual blend of amber and chocolate, and a man could drown in their depth. “Are you untamed my little stranger?”

Can Rogan give up his quest to revenge his brother’s death in order to keep Corin safe? Will she accept her new life as his wife? Can they both survive the anger of Black Diamond, the most notorious pi-rate in the Caribbean? SCARLET RAVEN is an adventure in Time that will fill your heart with love and your soul with life that once roamed the open seas!

Entry filed under: Write Questions.

HELL EVEN I FORGOT ABOUT IT BETA READERS, AGENT SEARCHES, AND ANXIETY

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

