THE BOOK BLAH’S

March 14, 2008 at 2:19 pm 4 comments

I was going to try and make Fridays all about the readers. I was going to blog about things they can relate to. This post may be border line, but I need to do an impromptu intervention for all the writers out there who know what I’m going through. It’s sort of like post partum depression, except it deals with how you feel about your book after its conception.

I’m sorry readers, but this the truth, sometimes that book you love, the one you read twice or three times a year, the one you told all your friends about, the one book that made this particular author became your auto-buy author, THAT BOOK, the author hates. They couldn’t wait to see that sucker go out to their editor and never, ever, ever have to read or see again.

Sorry.

Authors, you are not alone. It’s okay to admit to yourself if no one else that you hate that book. It’s okay to wish you could go back in time and write another story idea so you didn’t have to experience that ONE book that you felt was going to end your writing career. That one book (or it could be several depending on how prolific you are) you hated one moment, loved the next, and spazed out the whole entire time you edited.

Am I speaking from experience? *looks around for readers, spots one* Of course not. Yes, dear baby Jesus, yes, like RIGHT NOW. No, I love every book I write. Someone save me from this book from the hell that ruins every writer’s career. I have absolute fun writing every word I write and creating stories that a reader can love. My writing career is over before it has started with this book.

Now, I’m heading back to edits where I will wax poetic and try not to weep. And you know if you are a writer who has ever experience this you can wax poetic in the comments. If you are a reader, well, sorry about this blog post.

Entry filed under: writing woes.

HMMMMMMMMMM WRITE QUESTIONS: Liana Laverentz

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marianne Arkins  |  March 14, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Um, yeah.

    I mentioned on my blog recently, how sick I was of one of my upcoming releases. One of my readers said, “How can an author dislike their own book?”

    Easy.

    I’ve read it through about fifteen million times. Any book I’d had to read that many times in two months would make me puke, even my own.

    I never, ever, ever want to read this story again.

    OTOH, I’m guessing (and hoping) that people who haven’t read it fifteen million times are going to love it!

    But, me? Never want to see it again. I’m trying to find enough enthusiasm to promote it when it does release.

  • 2. Mel  |  March 15, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Yeah, that’s what I’m worried about. How am I to tell everyone this is the best book ever, when I’m thinking, “please dear god don’t ask me to read it.”

  • 3. Jennifer McKenzie  |  March 15, 2008 at 3:53 am

    Plus, you have to promo it, pick excerpts to post for promo, talk about it CONSTANTLY that by the time the thing has been out for a month, you wonder why anyone bought it.
    LOL.
    But the good thing is that I’ve gone back and read some of my first releases and….I liked them. I could totally see why they were good stories. Oh sure, I saw where they needed work, but they were still good stories I was proud of.
    So, like everything else with this it’s “This too shall pass”.

  • 4. Mel  |  March 15, 2008 at 4:10 am

    You know I don’t hate How Much You Want to Bet? I absolutely love that book. I think it has a lot to do with the characters.

    But this book and Protecting Della I wish I could wipe from my memory. Since SMR is contracted I have to deal with it, otherwise I’d let it sit on my hardrive until I like it again.

    “This too shall pass”. I hope so, because I have to edit seven more chapters. But first, because I excel at procrastinating, I’m going to edit another book.

    P.S. How Much You Want to Bet? Is on it’s way to you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

