WRITE QUESTIONS:Karen Nutt

March 10, 2008 at 3:00 pm Leave a comment

Without further ado…

When did you start writing?

As long as I can remember, I’ve loved to write, scribbling down my stories in notebooks. I still have my earlier works, which were mostly westerns and paranormals. My girls have read them and passed them along to their friends, too. I also wrote plays and my fifth grade teacher let my friends and I perform them for the class—quite a thrill for an eleven year old.

What was the defining moment that made you sit down and start writing a book?

My girlfriend (that I’ve known forever,) asked me one day why I didn’t write anymore. I didn’t have an answer for her. That night, I took out the computer and started typing away and haven’t stopped since. At first, the stories were purely for fun and if a few people read them, I was thrilled.

What made you take yourself seriously?
Writing was a hobby, a way to escape to another world. Not until I had my first book published, did I think, “Hey, I’m really an author.”

What have you learned about writing that shocked you the most?

I never knew there was an erotic genre. I review for PNR Paranormal Romance. They asked me if I wanted to review an e-book, a Quickie from Ellora Cave. I said sure, why not. I was so naïve. I thought a Quickie novel meant a short story. Let me tell you, I had quite a shock. (lol) Didn’t stop me from finishing it though.
On a more serious note, I never realized how much effort and time goes into having a novel published. Editing for one—I had no idea there were different types of editing procedures. Even finding the right cover for your book can be a challenge. I for one will admit: I do judge a book by its cover. Unless I’m at Barnes and Noble for a certain title, it’s the cover that draws me to pick up the book and see if I want to read it.

What sub-genre(s) did you gravitate to when you first started? Is it the same as now and why do you think it’s changed or stayed the same?

Romance first and foremost, whether I’m writing historical or paranormals. I don’t believe in love at first sight—lust maybe. In my opinion, true love comes from devotion, experiences, and shared moments. I want the readers to take the journey with my hero and heroine as they discover what it means to truly love someone.

My first book was a time-travel historical in medieval Ireland. Right now, I’m leaning toward the paranormal, shapeshifters, vampires, and ghosts. Oh my!

What advice have you gotten that you live by?

Don’t sweat the little things. Life is too short. Live each day to the best, laugh a lot and enjoy the people you love.

If all else fails, grab a cup of tea, kick up your feet and escape between the pages of a book.

What advice would you give a newbie (if it’s not the same as above)?

Join writers groups where you’ll find out the latest news by keeping in touch with other writers. This is a great place to find out where to submit your book for reviews, awards, and for promoting. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. You’ll find most authors are willing to share what they know. In return, you can pass the information along. Make sure you have a website so people can find you. If they don’t know you exist, how can they buy your book?

What’s you’re writing process? Has it changed since writing your first book?

I tend to write whatever comes to mind. It could be the last chapter or one in the middle. Sometimes I have an idea and I jot it down for the future. I didn’t always, but now, I keep a notebook for each story and I write down the characters’ names, height, hair-color, personality traits, etc. This way I can easily refer back to see if the hero has blue-green eyes or did I say, green eyes with flecks of brown. Makes life much easier.

What keeps you writing?

Ideas keep popping in my head and I have to write them down. It’s exciting to see where the characters will take me.

Do you have a support system? Do you have a writing community? What valuable lessons have you learned from them?

I’ve met a lot of authors online and they have been helpful in so many ways, from critiquing to a confidence boost. I have a good friend Cathy, who edits my work and isn’t afraid to tell me if something doesn’t make sense. My husband helps me with my endless questions about computers and he designed my website.

Define success for yourself?

Success was holding my first published book in my hands, but it was also receiving that first review. You think, “Wow, someone read my book and they liked it!”

What’s your comfort reads?

Just about any book will do, but I lean toward paranormal romances, historical time travels, but I also like good thriller now and again. My favorite authors I keep going back to: Diana Gabaldon, Nora Roberts, Shannon Drake, L.A. Banks, Jenna Black, Richard Matheson, Tim Powers, James Patterson, Dean Koontz to name a few. New authors that I’ll be looking for their new releases: Mari McBryar (werewolves, vampires), Audra and Stella Price(dragons), Terry Spear(werewolves) and Kendra Leigh Castle(werewolves.)

Who are you reading right now?

I’m reading, My Demon’s Kiss by Lucy Blue. I’ve never read any of her work before, but from the first chapter I was hooked.

What book(s) that makes you want to write better (or stop writing because you’ll never be that good)?


I would have to say Diana Gabaldon inspires and intimidates. I love the way she writes, by blending history into her time travel tale. So much research goes into her books, you feel like you’re right there. Jaime and Claire’s love story is beautifully told with all the heartache and sacrifices that goes along with what it means to love someone. She hits exactly what I want for my own characters.

Plug Away…

Karen Michelle Nutt lives in California with her husband of twenty-three years, three fascinating children, two dogs, Jack and Shakespeare and three cats that have everyone well trained. Her book, Lost in the Mist of Time was nominated by New Books Review for 2006 Best Fantasy Book Award. The Object of Romance Anthology, was voted top ten in the P&E readers poll 2007. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America (RWA.) In her spare time, she reviews for PNR- Paranormal Romance Reviews.

New works to look for in 2008: Destiny’s Prerogative—The Lovers Card with Dark Tarot Publishing http://www.teasetarot.com/thelovers.html

The Second Time Around Anthology featuring her novella, “The Spirit of Love.” 2008 Highland Press Publishing.

You can find Ms. Nutt at:
http://www.kmnbooks.com/
http://www.authorsden.com/karenmichellenutt
http://www.myspace.com/karenmichellenutt

Blub for Destiny’s Prerogative:

When Dr. Shay McCormick died, there was no white light, no loved one to comfort her. There was a half-man, half-jaguar there to greet her. He’s a decedent of the nagual, a spirit guide. It isn’t her time and he leads her to safety. Shay wants proof shapeshifters exist. Her curiosity leads her into a world of danger and to Gabriel Cruzado. Fate threw them together, but despite their differences, they work together, eliminating a threat to their future. Destined to be lovers long before he touched her soul and she saved his life.
Entry filed under: Write Questions.

JUST SOME CURIOUS QUESTIONS THE GUILT

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

