STEPHEN KING DID IT

March 5, 2008 at 3:36 pm 7 comments

As a writer and as a reader I always wanted to know what revisions were like. Well, now I know. Though at times when my brain is fried from reading a story a million bleeping times I forget how in the hell it’s done.

For those of you who have never read On Writing then this picture might help. And for the handful of readers this is what a book looks like before it gets to you.

Right now I’m knee deep in revisions, (which isn’t helping my Sweat word count any, but I know me, I’ll catch up) and I’m looking for sentences I hate, sentences that just fall flat and emotions and actions that need to be added. Basically I’m layering and re-writing.

Did I mention I have to write some song lyrics?

Oh, the joy.

But you know what I’d rather be published.

Entry filed under: revising.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Victoria Pitts-Caine JUST SOME CURIOUS QUESTIONS

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bettye griffin  |  March 5, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    You’ll get through it, Mel! And if you disagree wtih the editor, don’t be afraid to speak up.

  • 2. Mel  |  March 6, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Trust me, Bettye, I do. The fine line though is that I trust my editor and if she points something out then my execution was probably faulty. (Or it was pointed out by a CP)

    And all that red you see is my handwriting. She’s easier on me than I am on myself.

  • 3. Edie  |  March 6, 2008 at 4:04 am

    I love writing song lyrics! I do the rhyming Dr. Seuss kind, but I like doing them anyway. 🙂

    Good luck with your revisions!

  • 4. Mel  |  March 6, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Bless you, Edie. If I run into a roadblock then I know who to ask for help.

  • 5. raine  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Three words.
    Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate.

  • 6. Mel  |  March 6, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Do chocolate chip cookies count?

  • 7. Miss Mae  |  March 7, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Oh, I do so agree with the chocolate, Mel!

    MM

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

