WRITE QUESTIONS: Victoria Pitts-Caine

March 3, 2008 at 3:08 pm 6 comments


When did you start writing?

About twenty-six years ago. I had a short article in an adoptive parent magazine. With some urging, I tried to get a larger magazine to take it, but had no luck. I didn’t write again until the kids were grown and one out of the house in 2001.

What was the defining moment that made you sit down and start writing a book?

I am an avid genealogist and wanted to tell my third great grandmother’s story. At that time, I’d joined a writing group. When my grandmother’s story was done, I started writing my current TWRP book, Alvarado Gold, as something to read in class. Then as they say, the rest is history.

What made you take yourself seriously?

Having others realize I had talent.

What have you learned about writing that shocked you the most?

That I am an accomplished writer outside my own circle of family and friends who tell you you’re good when maybe you really aren’t.

What sub-genre(s) did you gravitate to when you first started? Is it the same as now and why do you think it’s changed or stayed the same?

I wanted to do adventure. I was very interested, at the time, in the Dan Brown books and how they played out and the movie National Treasure, etc. My crit leader told me it would never sell without making it into a “sellable” genre. It became a romance.

What advice have you gotten that you live by?

Persevere.

What advice would you give a newbie (if it’s not the same as above)?

Pretty much the same as above. Keep trying, keep putting your work out there because one day, someone’s going to accept it.

What’s you’re writing process?

Has it changed since writing your first book? I’ve taken classes, gone to conferences, etc. to hone my craft. I try to pay more attention to how I’m writing as well as what I’m writing.

What keeps you writing?

It’s an inner desire. It is something I have to do.

Do you have a support system? Did you have a writing community? What valuable lessons have you learned from them?

I have a mentor and a crit group that are very important to me. I’ve learned we all struggle even the greats and that’s good to know. I have one especially good gal buddy that’s a writer, also. We go have a latte and moan about the process.

Define success for yourself?

Success for myself is getting my first book published and the fact that it is doing so well with TWRP.

What’s your comfort reads?

LuAnn Rice. I’ve read several of her books and decided that I’m going to print out the entire list, start from the top and read them all!

Who are you reading right now?

LuAnn Rice’s Summer’s Child.

What book(s) that makes you want to write better (or stop writing because you’ll never be that good)?

I don’t think I’d ever stop writing but I sure have said several times, I wish I wrote like that. I’m also a big fan of Earlene Fowler, Anne Rivers Siddon and Margaret Maron. They all inspire me.

Plug Away…You can find Victoria Pitts-Caine here.

Entry filed under: Write Questions.

AND THE WINNER IS…. STEPHEN KING DID IT

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria Pitts-Caine  |  March 4, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Thanks Melissa!

    Victoria

  • 2. Miss Mae  |  March 4, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Nice interview! Loved learning these things about Vicki…

    MM

  • 3. Mel  |  March 4, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    You’re welcome Victoria, and it was my pleasure.

  • 4. Mel  |  March 4, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Nice to see you Miss Mae. *aren’t you on the bestseller list?*

  • 5. Katie Reus  |  March 4, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Great interview! Amen for support systems, it would be hard to live w/out my writing buddies 🙂

  • 6. Mel  |  March 4, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Katie, I think that goes for most writer’s who haven’t been burned by a support group or critique partner.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

