THINGS PUBLISHED AUTHORS TOLD ME: And I didn’t believe

February 29, 2008 at 8:50 am 15 comments


I’m not sure if you noticed but I liked to put things in list when they really boggled my mind. Well, today I’m going to explore the things I thought were complete and utter bullshit when said by a published author.

1. Being published isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

Hmm, at the moment when I don’t have blaring deadlines in front of me I find this one to be on the light side of bullshit. It’s wonderful holding your book in your hands, knowing you wrote it.

2. Being published isn’t all it’s cracked up to be due to promoting your brains out.

Oh, this one I can believe now. I’ve got e-mails I need to answer at the moment. I’m waiting on a phone call from my local African American Newspaper to do an interview. I need to make business cards. Jeez, just shoot me now.

3. The things you write may come back and haunt you.

This one’s my own damn fault. I told the people at my job about my book and now everyone wants a copy. That’s in itself isn’t a bad thing I’m selling books, but now I’m thinking about those steamy love scenes I wrote. My supervisor and the CEO have a copy of my book with those STEAMY LOVE SCENES. If that isn’t bad enough I just handed over a copy to my father. When I told him, “No, you don’t have to read it. No, really you don’t have to read it.” He got offended when all I wanted him to do was to keep on believing I swallowed a pumpkin seed that got me pregnant. Dear baby Jesus.

4. Peddling your books is hard work.

How many ways can you say, “buy my book” without being annoying? I still haven’t found a steady balance for that one. I feel like the person outside the grocery store asking for spare change. But if it sells a copy of my book…

5. The excitement with the second book isn’t as high.

This one I can kind of agree on. I checked out the latest releases on my publishers website and found See Megan Run (formerly known as Overworked and Underlaid) and I had a squee moment. Not the the same pitch of squee when I saw How Much You Want to Bet? But a squee nonetheless. Hell,to be honest I may have only talked about See Megan Run in passing since I sold it. Oh, but trust me I’m going to be hitting over the head with that one. (To sum up that book: Mommie Dearest meets The Princess Bride.)

6. At the end of the day you still have to write.

So, true. With all the fanfare going on I still find the time to open up a word doc and write my little heart out. Now I just may be juggling edits with my editor, my own personal revisions, and trying to get down a daily word count, but I’m still a writer.

Two things: That picture is from a Tarot Deck (the fool card) and I’ll pull names later for the grand finale win.

AMENDED TO ADD: I’m number 8 on the bestseller list on my publisher’s website. SQUUEE! That may be why I’m not jaded by publishing yet.

Entry filed under: being published, contest, list.

FAIR-WEATHER BLOGGER(but really who cares I’ve got pictures) AND THE WINNER IS….

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amie Stuart  |  February 29, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I WARNED my step-mom before i gave her a copy (for her and my dad)–this book has light BDSM, FFM sex, masturbation etc. I can tell she was um apparently uh shocked from comments she’s made (she’s very passive aggressive) but my dad thought it was funny–so did the rest of the family. And yes, I gave my boss a copy too. You have NO IDEA how embarrassing that was–really you don’t.

  • 2. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I have an idea of how embarrassing that may be. It’s okay to make a general assumption of how someone has sex. But then reading someone’s sex scene your thinking this is how they have sex, which may be far from the truth. Yet and still…

  • 3. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    P.S. Let me have my delusions woman.

  • 4. Jennifer McKenzie  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Listen, this all may be true but nothing, absolutely NOTHING beats the feeling of a book release.
    (don’t tell my husband. I lie to him about this)

  • 5. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Lol. It’ll be our little secret.

  • 6. Amie Stuart  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    >>don’t tell my husband. I lie to him about this

    I need a LMAO smiley!

  • 7. Amie Stuart  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    RE #5..the excitement is NEVER as high. I think this is partly on us. We need to celebrate our victories more–enjoy them more and we don’t. Because with every positive there’s always that….hmmmm reality crashing in just a little faster every time. the best promo you can do…is to put out more books (but not at the sacrifice of quality!)

  • 8. bettye griffin  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Congrats at making the bestseller list, Mel!

  • 9. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I’ve been meaning to get some emoticons.

    And Re # 5: I think I might come up with a blog post about that one. My theory is that first sell is everything we ever wanted as a writer. We made it/ We arrived. The excuse is that we’ll never have another debut novel.

    The truth is we’ll never have a second sell again, nor a third…Hell, it’s not even a guarantee that we’ll ever sell again.

    I recently saw on romance novel tv an author who had a six year span before she sold her second novel. Also the amazing thing is she sold five more books in the same year.

    I say that’s karma, but at the same time that second/third/fourth sell should be just a big celebration as the first one. But then again most writer’s don’t treat it that way. Might be interesting to explore the why.

  • 10. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks, Bettye. I’m sooo excited. I’d been stalking the site to see if I’d hit it. It kind of surprised me when I did.

  • 11. Amie Stuart  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I know I need to shut up huh LOL I think a lot of it is that pressure we put on ourselves to perform…honey men doing the nasty ain’t got NOTHING on us when it comes to performance anxiety

  • 12. Mel  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    No, you’re fine. I love having a dialogue with other writers/readers. Hell makes me feel special. (someone wants to talk to me…I don’t get out much.)

    And the funny thing is that’s what my editor said to me. So I’m working on a new rule of thumb: write a book an editor can’t say no to, than to produce a million books a year that readers bleeping hate. I think I’ll be successful because I’d rather not have my name on something I’m not proud of.

  • 13. Edie  |  March 1, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Mel, how terrific to be on the bestseller list. This is the start of a wonderful career. And I love what your editor told you. I agree with him and you.

  • 14. booklady  |  March 2, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Number eight? Melissa, that’s fantastic! And as for your take on things that authors say about publishing, thank you for that. I’ve been wondering which of these was real and which was just complaining. (Because every job gives people something to complain about.)

  • 15. Mel  |  March 2, 2008 at 8:33 am

    To be honest it is a complaint because I’d rather be published than not. At the same time after you receive “the call” reality sets in and it’s not all daisies and sunshine. Still…I’d rather be published.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

