IT’S BLEEPING KILLING ME

February 3, 2008 at 1:49 am 5 comments

I’ve never been good at waiting, and this waiting for my book to come out is killing me. I’ve been stalking my publishers web page waiting for my cover to be on that front page. I CAN’T WAIT!

So what am I doing to distract myself?

I’ve been trying to write. I’ve been listening to Will Write for Wine episodes. I’ve found out my cd-burner has gone kapoot.(and now have to wait 2-3 days to get it replaced) The day of I’m going to be completely useless. So what do I have for you? An excerpt.

Come on. You should have seen that one coming.

This is when things start to change for the heroine, Neil. *and the girls you’ve got to read this book for the girls alone*(copywritten, blah, blah):

“I heard you got along pretty good with the girls up top.” Gib said, sliding his hand around her waist and pulling her closer.

The warmth from his body sent off signals in her brain, and she didn’t mind the message they were sending. She felt loose and relaxed from being a part of the group of women. The one who had paid closest attention to the game was Anna, and usually it was with her cue that they would yell or cheer.

“We bonded, in a way.” His hand on her hip felt too comfortable. She moved away from him, reminding herself they had a work relationship. By itself, it was telling that she had to remind herself. She put more distance between them. “More importantly, they gave me the scoop on you.”

“All you had to do was ask me, to get the lowdown.”

It hadn’t occurred to her. “Sometimes you need a woman’s point of view.”

He stopped in front of her car. “Have you decided on me yet?”

The ball cap tilted backwards made him look incredibly sexy, Neil thought. She didn’t want him. Couldn’t want him, she mentally corrected herself. “You’re not too bad. Sadly, you’re still irritating beyond belief.”

“You don’t look like you want to punch me anymore, so that must mean something.”

She chuckled softly, pulling her keys from her pants pocket. They trembled in her hands. She wanted to touch his face. She wanted to feel the curve of his mouth beneath her hands. “Since you won like you predicted, both the game and the bet,
how about a pizza to celebrate?”

She gripped the keys to steady her hands. It was okay for her to socialize. Eating with him wouldn’t crumble the world she’d built for protection. Right? “That should cover the twenty-five bucks I owe you.”

He leaned into her, sniffing the air around her again. “Give me a moment to think. The smell of your perfume is killing me.” He stepped back, his gaze looking clouded. “Maybe I can get you to kiss me this time.”

“Don’t bet on it, Fish Lips.” Neil knew she had to mean it, because her past was at stake if she didn’t.

Entry filed under: excerpt, release dates.

I SAID THERE’D BE A CONTEST WRITE QUESTIONS: Hywela Lyn

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. booklady  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Ooh, that is so cool! When’s the release date? I looked on the sidebar and didn’t see it. I can’t imagine the suspense you must feel. Dare I tell you this? Okay, I will. A friend of mine whose book is coming out on Tuesday discovered that Amazon.com actually had it up for sale a month or two early. So, there’s that.

  • 2. Mel  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Dare I tell you this?

    Lol. Trust me, I looked. Unfortunately, it’s a novella and won’t grace the pages of Amazon. (Until I put one or two books for sale on it. lol. Yes, I know.)

    Feb. 15, 2008 is the release date. I’ll be sure to put it up on my side bar.

    And yes, the suspense is killing me slowly.

  • 3. Mel  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    You can find the release date above the book cover now. Be sure to tell all the Cherries you know.

  • 4. Patricia W.  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Fish Lips?

  • 5. Mel  |  February 4, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Inside joke. You’ve got to read the book. (Had to slip that in there somehow. lol)

    Just kidding, but she’s told him he kisses like a fish and that’s his nickname.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

