DESPERATION FINALLY HIT

January 30, 2008 at 2:39 pm 10 comments

First I did get a wonderful green 2001 Dodge Neon. All the doors open! YAY!

Anyway, on to the post…Friday night I couldn’t take it anymore. I cleaned my house. Every single room. I scrubbed. I mopped. I folded every piece of clothes I found. I made my 3 bedroom apartment look like a show place. When every surface gleamed I had to face down my computer. *shit* I opened In Time and sat, and sat, and sat. It’s true inspiration doesn’t hit you when you do this.

I couldn’t avoid the blinking cursor taunting me with each blink. But that blank page gave me the shakes. I poised my hands over the keyboard and then stuck them back in my lap. *shit,shit* Writer’s write. I’m supposed to be writing. Somehow I’ve lost all my focus. I’m doing challenges so I haven’t completely stopped writing, but I can see the end.

And that’s when it hit me. I was in chapter 4, and I still didn’t know the ending to In Time. I have nothing to write towards. Nada. My self imposed deadline is coming fast and I don’t know the freaking ENDING. There isn’t even a vague notion. Dear baby Jesus. I’ve no clue how the main characters are going to get their HEA, I don’t know if the woman kidnapped is going to live or die. I don’t know. So, I’m writing to the end of every chapter, and I see plotting in my horizon. Double dear baby Jesus.

The amazing thing about desperation (to not plot) I got down 1700 words, but there is still no end in sight. It’s a scary writing world out there folks.

Tell me what do you do when you don’t have an ending in mind. Keep writing? Plot? (please don’t say plot.) Pray? Badger your muse(s)to give up the goods? I need to know.

Entry filed under: no end in sight, writing woes.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Emma Sanders I SAID THERE’D BE A CONTEST

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marianne Arkins  |  January 30, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    LOL.. Don’t say plot…

    I write miscellaneous scenes totally out of order involving my characters that I may or may not end up using in the long run. Sometimes this gives me ideas. I also LOVE writing prompts, the weirder the better.

    Good luck. And, if you want to clean some more, feel free to come to my house 🙂

  • 2. Mel  |  January 30, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Marianne, I think I’m all cleaned out. I have two kids so the cleaning never stops, but now it’s at least in small doses. But if I hit another wall I’ll be sure to get your address.

  • 3. raine  |  January 31, 2008 at 5:45 am

    I try two things:

    1) Write. Just write. Don’t worry about the ending, where it’s going, what you think you SHOULD know about it–just write. Sometimes the characters will take you to the right places in spite of yourself, lol.

    2) Try jotting down any ending you can think of. Doesn’t have to be the “right one”, doesn’t even have to make sense. Write a few possibles. Heroic. Silly. Action-filled. Heart-tugging. Whatever. In all honesty, at least two of my books have ended differently than I planned them all along. So keep an open mind.

    The trick is…WRITE, lol.

  • 4. Mel  |  January 31, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Lol. I know. I should be taking my own advice. (check out my writer’s page on my website) I am, but I’m so damn impatient I want to get the end of the book now. I want to know why I’m not shooting out 1k a day instead of a measly 300-500 words. It’s just so damn frustrating.

    Doesn’t have to be the “right one”, doesn’t even have to make sense. Write a few possibles. Heroic. Silly. Action-filled. Heart-tugging. Whatever.

    Lol. I’ll keep this advice in mind, because you know it just might work.

  • 5. Kate S  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:02 am

    LOL, poor Mel. (Say, would you come over and clean my place too?) 🙂

    You know, I’ve been in this situation before, too, and I’ve done the dreaded plot thing and I’ve also just kept writing with NO idea where it was going – just wrote any old crap whether it was going to stay or not.

    Both have worked, and both have not worked. More often than not, when I’ve plotted, I’ve lost interest in the WIP altogether and sat it aside. The fun was sapped out somehow.

    You’ve just got to do whatever works for you. (Feel free to slap me for that pearl of wisdom.) 🙂

  • 6. Mel  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:01 am

    No slapping will be involved with this comment. Lol.

    But I know I have to find out what’s going to work with this WIP. Entering writing challenges have worked before. I don’t think that’s the case here.

    It could just be the winter months.

    It could be some fear I’m not acknowledging.

    Frankly I just need to sit down and WRITE.

    We’ll see how that sort of thinking works out.

  • 7. bettye griffin  |  February 1, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    For the most part, I know the beginning and the end when I start writing. It’s getting them there that gives me the most trouble. And sometimes I have alternate endings and decide which one when I have a better idea of where the story is going.

  • 8. Mel  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    And sometimes I have alternate endings and decide which one when I have a better idea of where the story is going.

    And see that’s never my issue. I can get down the wrong ending. My school of thought I’ll know the right way to re-write it after I revise. For How Much, I completely scracthed the last chapter and re-wrote. I had the last scene in the wrong place, I had the wrong characters in the scene, and I had the main characters doing the wrong thing. But I had an “ending” in mind.

    Anyway, I wrote some more last night and I’m going full speed ahead.

  • 9. Edie  |  February 2, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    I’m the same way as Bettye. I pretty much know the beginning, the ending, a few things in between — and that’s it. But Allison Brennan often says she doesn’t know her ending, so you aren’t alone. She loves finding out as she writes.

    When I’m stuck, it isn’t because I don’t know the ending, it’s because I’ve taken a wrong turn somewhere. I have to go back and see what isn’t working.

    Glad you’re writing again. 🙂

  • 10. Mel  |  February 3, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    When I’m stuck, it isn’t because I don’t know the ending, it’s because I’ve taken a wrong turn somewhere.

    That’s my usual pitfall. I either delete the scene or change POV. Changing POV is always the fix for me, I tend to pick character with the least to lose in a scene.

    And I’m also glad I’m writing again.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

