I’M GEEKING

January 25, 2008 at 2:17 pm 8 comments

I would like to say I had this fun and witty post to write today. I don’t. And what I have to share with you guys is not writing related, so if you’d rather click to someone else’s blog who does, then go on. I won’t be mad, because today I’m GEEKING!

No, this isn’t about cute nerds. I’ve got my tax refund. And for me that means I’m going car shopping. This is a momentous occasion. For the past two years I’ve been driving a ’92 Ford Mustang.

It’s a Mustang you say, what’s the problem?

Let me list them for you:

1. I’ve got two kids and the car I have is the size of a sardine can.

2. The passenger side door doesn’t open. It can, but you have to kick it while holding the door handle, and while someone stands on the other side of the door holding THAT door handle.

3. The check engine light has been on mysteriously for a year and a half.

4. There is a crack in the windshield.

5. The fan doesn’t work, so that means if there is a long line at the drive thru window then I’m safer going inside, because my car will overheat.

6. No, this list of problems isn’t done yet.

7. The taillights have been stolen because of the make and model of the car.

8. Both driver’s side tire’s, bolts, and rims have been stolen because of the make and model of the car.

9. The radio has been stolen. And the person kicked the dashboard to pull it out. So the radio I have in there is hanging by a thread,because of the huge crack in my dashboard.

10. Lately the back passenger side tire keeps going flat.

11. No, this list isn’t done yet.

12. If I don’t allow the car sufficient time to warm up, it won’t stall, the car won’t cut off, the damn thing will just stop moving. I’ve got to rev the engine then a very hard jerk will follow then I can drive.

13. The trunk doesn’t stay open, so if I’m feeling frisky and want to use it I have to hold the trunk up and have my daughter throw all the bags in the back. If it’s something too heavy for my daughter to put in the truck I have to get creative. There have been a many of days I was “this close” to losing a hand.

14. Needless to say it’s a Fix Or Repair Daily. I’ve bought a new solenoid, starter, replaced the transmission filter twice, replaced the muli-function relay assembly, had to hot wire the fan so it’ll work, but then that wire blew out and killed my car for a time. I’ve had to have this suckered towed to my house twice, because it died on me.

15. In two fours years this sucker will be considered a classic. It’s more than half my age.

I’m SOOOOO done with this car. I love it. I will always remember it fondly. I may keep the car(of course get that damn tire fixed) just in case. But folks, I’m geeking, because I’m going to get a new car. A NEW CAR! YAY! Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: cars, mustang.

WRITER’S BLOCK WRITE QUESTIONS: Emma Sanders

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  January 25, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Aw, best of luck, Mel!
    Hope you find exactly what you want!
    (Raine, who’s still driving a ’91 with similar issues, lol…)

  • 2. Edie  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Happy car shopping, Mel! Both my husband and I have ’93 cars, and we know we’ll have to replace one at a time soon. Not looking forward to spending the money. 😦

  • 3. Mel  |  January 26, 2008 at 2:41 am

    You’ve got to love older cars. But I did find exactly what I wanted. It remains to be seen if the car is a lemon or not. I’m going to drive that sucker like there is no tomorrow to see if it holds up. Oh, and it’s a 2001 Dodge Neon. I’m going to check online to see if there were any recalls.

  • 4. Mel  |  January 26, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Even after getting the car I’m still not looking forward to spending the money, but I see it as an investment. The amount of money I was sinking into my Ford was no longer worth it. Every other month it was something different, and something bigger wrong with it. I’ve gotten an extremly good deal on the car so right now I’m happy. I’m going to be optimistic. I swear I am.

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  January 26, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    GOod luck!!!!!! THere’s nothing like it but the payments suck

  • 6. Mel  |  January 27, 2008 at 1:34 am

    The car payments isn’t the problem its the car payments, car insurance combo that gets you every time.

  • 7. bettye griffin  |  January 29, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    You’ve got to tell us what kind of car you end up with, Mel! And enjoy!

  • 8. Mel  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Bettye- It’s a 2001 Dodge Neon. All the doors open. It doesn’t stop for no apparent reason. The ride is so smmmmoooooth. I’ve been grinning like a fool since Friday.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

