WRITER’S BLOCK

January 23, 2008 at 2:07 pm 5 comments

Some people say it doesn’t exist. They say it’s a myth. I’ve seen this beast with my own two eyes, I know it exist. The only way to cure it is to write. So desperate to completely break out of my writing funk, I joined a challenge. A small one, because I know a big one would only feed that beast. I started Monday and I now have a first draft of a story. I now need to revise. Me! Thank You God!!!

What challenge helped me through this miraculous recovery,you ask?

Romance Divas, thank you for helping me defeat the beast. I’m not sure if you have to be a diva to join, but its a great opportunity to get your name out there. It’s also something you can put on your blog or website to give people a feel for your writing.

Anyway,soon I’ll have be putting up a link to my free story here on my blog and on my website. (Yay, I finally finished writing something)

But here’s a sneak peak of The 16 Year Itch:

Morgan Stevens took in the pink and red heart-shaped balloons, the rows of endless chocolate in heart-shaped boxes, the heart-shaped greeting cards, and her stomach clenched. “You know, I really hate this holiday. It’s not even a week from now and everything is…ugh.”

Alan, her best friend, laughed. “Only because no one has ever asked you to be their Valentine,” he shrugged. “Could make anyone grumpy.”

Morgan took in the atmosphere again. She missed the naked babies armed with heart-shaped arrows. Oh, and the array of pink stuffed animals. It was like pepto-bismol on crack. “No, I don’t think so.”

Entry filed under: E-book challenge, excerpt, Romance Divas, writers's block.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Aithne Jarretta I’M GEEKING

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sela Carsen  |  January 24, 2008 at 4:40 am

    You’re done already?!? I don’t even have an idea yet. Nothing like the last minute!

  • 2. Kristen Painter  |  January 24, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Yeah, seriously. I’ve got nothing. I’m hoping to work on it today tho!

  • 3. Mel  |  January 24, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    With challenges I have to have an idea two seconds after I hear about or I’m not going to be able to write anything.

    Plus I always wanted to have a heroine who hated Valentines Day. Can’t write a whole novel around that premise.

    But yeah, I’m done.

  • 4. Edie  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Mel, that is fast! Very cool beginning. You go!

  • 5. Mel  |  January 26, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Thanks, Edie. But writing and revisng 2k is much easier than writing and editing 40k+. Maybe I can make a living off of short stories.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

