PUBLISHED AUTHOR MYTHBUSTING

January 13, 2008 at 12:07 am 2 comments


I think it’s time folks we’ve had this talk. Kind of like the birds and the bees for writers. No, more like the Santa doesn’t exist talk. I don’t blame you for believing these myths, because at one time so did I.

1. Once you are published you never get another rejection.

Sorry, I just fell on the floor from laughing so hard. I say you are more than likely to get one because the editor or publisher knows you can provide work that is above par. You’ve been published before. You know what is asked of you and why can’t you provide it. And yes they hurt just as much if not more.

2. You know what you are doing once you sit down to write making it 10 times easier to shoot out a novel.

If this was the case then I’d be writing a whole lot more than a page a day. Published authors have to write one word at a time just like any unpubbed author.

3. Published authors know a whole lot more about writing than an unpubbed writer.

Sorry I fell to the floor again. Let me paint the picture for you. One day I was going along writing my little heart out. The next day I had a contract. 24 hours do not somehow make you a genius on all things that are writing. Another thing to consider is that no one can conquer all aspects of writing no matter how long they’ve been writing. A published author can only tell you how there process works. Consider this one if you still don’t believe me, how many times have you heard a pubbed author say, “It depends.” Translated. “Dear God,am I supposed to know how to do that?”

4. All published authors are just lying when they say things don’t get any easier. I mean they are published.

I received my contract in October. Since then I’ve received 2 rejections, I’m still agent-less, my writing is barely existent, and I’ve yet garnered the means to quit my day job. The only difference I can see if getting feedback faster. I don’t see the plus in getting my rejection practically overnight-ed to me.

Those are all the myths I’m going to conquer today. Check back Monday for another segment of Write Questions. Really there will be an interview.

Entry filed under: myths, writing woes.

SHOCKED AND AMAZED FIRST CONTRACT OF THE YEAR, YAY!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  January 13, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I’ve heard from published writers that it gets harder after the first one. That there’s more fear, wondering if you’ll do it again.

    I’m eager to find out for myself. lol

  • 2. Mel  |  January 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Who wouldn’t? I say the main thing is most unpubbs are not prepared when the contract comes. I didn’t pay that much attention to the gray area from selling the book to the book being on the shelves and even to promotion. Writing the book is only half of the process. A huge part of it, because if you don’t have the book then you are no where. But still writing it is only half the battle you’re going to face.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

