FIRST CONTRACT OF THE YEAR, YAY!

January 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm 14 comments


Well, as you know I sent in Overworked and Underlaid to my editor and she wants to contract it. So I sold, again, and yes it’s just as exciting. I’m not going to be a one book wonder. YAY!!!!
Though this time I’m going to have to work my butt off. She tells me there are going to be major revisions. Also I need a new title. The current one is too risque for the line I’m targeting. (No you cannot have it. I still got first dibs.)

Anyway, I’ll worry about that later, but today there’s going to be a PARTY!!!!

Entry filed under: contract, party, submitting.

PUBLISHED AUTHOR MYTHBUSTING WRITE QUESTIONS: Clover Autrey

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Cohen  |  January 13, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Hooray! Congratulations. I’m sorry you couldn’t keep that excellent title.

  • 2. Marianne Arkins  |  January 13, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    WOO HOO YOU!!! Great job 🙂

  • 3. Davina  |  January 13, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Congratulations, that’s fantastic news!

  • 4. Mel  |  January 14, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Thanks!! I’m relieved and frightened at the same time. Moments like this I say to myself I’m really a writer even though I know I was a writer before this. Just saying. Okay, I’ll stop rambling.

  • 5. Edie  |  January 14, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Yay!!!! Congratulations, Mel!

    You are really a writer. A GREAT writer!

  • 6. Mel  |  January 14, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks, Edie.

  • 7. Jennifer Elbaum  |  January 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Congrats that’s fantastic!

  • 8. Allie Boniface  |  January 14, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Ooh, big congrats on your second contract! That is so exciting!!

  • 9. raine  |  January 15, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I’m late, but
    WOOOOOOO!!!!!

    Congratulations, Mel!!
    And yes, you keep that title–have a feeling you’ll be using it one day, lol.

  • 10. Mel  |  January 15, 2008 at 3:31 am

    Thanks, Jennifer.

    Allie-I KNOW!!! I didn’t believe it. Mainly because I wasn’t sure if I could sell again. But I did. And I’m over the moon.

    Raine-You’re not that late and I’m sure I’ll be using that title again. It’s too good to let it die.

  • 11. Katie Reus  |  January 15, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    CONGRATS! I’m sounds as if the second sale is just as exciting as the first one 🙂 Hope you partied it up right!

  • 12. Mel  |  January 16, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Nope. I’m still walking on air.

  • 13. booklady  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Congratulations! That’s fantastic! Hope your revisions aren’t too painful!

  • 14. Mel  |  January 16, 2008 at 6:07 am

    They will be, but I’ll try to keep in mind they will only make my book better. I like to think of my editor as a critique partner with incredible insight. The one great thing(well she has many) is that she gets my writing, she gets what I’m trying to say even when I’ve screwed up the execution. Hell, she bought my first book so I think I may just be biased.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

