PUTTING THINGS INTO PERSPECTIVE

January 10, 2008 at 3:25 am 2 comments

So……

My writing has been going slowly. My focus has been split ever since I ended Overworked and Underlaid. (Back in November)For whatever reason sitting in front of the computer has been difficult. I broke out my handy dandy notebook and started to write that novella. (Yes, the secret story alludes me at the moment.)Since the first I’ve filled up 11 pages. Small potatoes compared to what I could shoot out.

But then I thought about it. How much was I writing this time last year? Nada, nothing, zip. This time last year I hadn’t submitted a full PERIOD. This time last year I wasn’t preparing an ms to start sending out to agents.

I’ve been comparing my progress to insane standards. (Writing 8k in one day IS insane.) I think I’m going to stop doing that, but at the same time I think this may be the lesson I have to learn for this year.

What seems to be the running theme for 2008 with you guys?

Entry filed under: novella, progress, writing woes.

Write Questions: I bet you are wondering SHOCKED AND AMAZED

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer Elbaum  |  January 10, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Good for you for developing that perspective. It’s too easy to beat yourself up for your imagined shortcomings, and quite the feat to recognize how far you’ve come.

    My theme? w-a-i-t-i-n-g

    I’ve got fulls out to an agent and a publisher, plus a couple of partials out. I cringe every time I go to open my email, and then get pissy because there’s no rejection letter (because you know that some reply, is better than no reply) lol.

  • 2. Mel  |  January 10, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Jennifer- That’s what we like to call writer crazy. But trust me I completely understand the feeling. Just send me something to stop the no end in sight waiting. Oh, I’m sorry it’s not waiting, but w-a-i-t-i-n-g, which is a whole other animal.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

