Write Questions: I bet you are wondering

January 8, 2008 at 1:26 am 6 comments

Well, I ran into some technical difficulties and this week’s write questions will be delayed. Before the end of this week it will be posted.

On to other things. I submitted Overworked and Underlaid to my editor. Now I used to think I had an eagle eye. I’ve stopped believing that nonsense. Thursday night, all day Friday, and all day Saturday, I read over O & U. My bum and head hurt, and I wanted to be DONE. I spit shined my synopsis. I opened up my e-mail and was about to attach O & U. But you know that little voice that tells you to do something? Usually I ignore it, but folks, lessons learned from last rejection told me to at least run grammatik.

I did.

It took me another 45 minutes to correct (or ignore) the suggestions. I can’t tell you how many mistakes I found and how sick I felt that I was about to send off my ms into this big bad world with that many mistakes left in it. There is still no guarantee my editor is going to want this book, (She’d be crazy not to.)but at least I know I sent in my best.

So folks, the beginning of the second week of the new year and I’ve accomplished two of my goals. Not bad, but don’t get me started on how my writing has been going.

Entry filed under: submitting, Write Questions, writing goals.

LOOK WHO HAS A RELEASE DATE PUTTING THINGS INTO PERSPECTIVE

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  January 8, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Mel, this is awesome! I have two CPs who read my pages, plus I go over my ms. many times myself. Yet when I go over it in hard copy, I’m shocked at how many mistakes I find.

    Good luck! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your editor loves both stories. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 2. Mel  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:03 am

    I know and this time I’m not thinking it’s a shoe in. Very different from my last submission. I am shamed to say my ego got a little over inflated. Rejections humble the hell out of you.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  January 8, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    congrats on getting the submission out!

  • 4. Katie Reus  |  January 8, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Mel, I did this about a year ago and was sick to my stomach for about a week afterwards! I forgot to correct something on the second page, despite having read and re-read it about a billion times ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on getting your ms out!

  • 5. Mel  |  January 8, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks, Jennifer.

  • 6. Mel  |  January 8, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Katie-The cure I have for that is not to re-read the ms. I know no matter how many times I’ve read over it there is a mistake. I say the only sure fire way is to have at least two back up readers.
    And still there will still be mistakes, a minimal amount, but still there.

    It’s a catch 22. You try not to sweat the small stuff, but you still need to put your best foot forward. Gah!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

