I DON’T DO RESOLUTIONS

January 2, 2008 at 2:42 pm 14 comments


Because no one sticks to them after the first week of the New Year anyway. So instead I’m making goals for myself like I did last year. I say I did pretty good. Let’s see if I can not only achieve them, but surpass them. I’ve broken them up in two groups: writing and publishing. The publishing side makes me crazy. I think it makes all authors crazy. That’s the one side of the whole that I know I have no control over. The one side that will make me want to stop writing. So it’s kind of like separating the chafe(sp?) from the wheat.

Writing Goals:

1. Write at least 300 words a day. From last year I learned writing every day is the only way to keep me interested in a story and most importantly to keep me writing.

2. Conquer the basics of grammar and punctuation. I refuse to ever get rejected again, because of bad grammar and punctuation. Reject me because my story sucks, my characters irritate the hell out of you, my pacing or conflict is off, not because I’m confusing the hell out of you with my pronouns and comma placement.

3. Finish “In Time” by March. I have 9k down the hatch. By mid-Feb. I should have the rough draft of Georgia’s and Troy’s story down. Since I going to have a secondary romance in this story I need to weave that sucker in there. It’s going to take a lot of skill and I’m not necessary obsessed with the word count. Go figure.

4. (This is the most immediate goal.) Read through Overworked and Underlaid again. Fix what my CP has already pointed out and see if I have the same problems throughout the novel. Make this the best damn book I’ve ever written.

5. Continue to work through I Said Never. I love this book. I’m going to make it the best damn book I’ve ever written. (Do you see a theme?)

6. Start, finish, and revise two more novels.

7. Start, finish, and revise the novella involving a witch. (I’m broadening my horizons)

8. Continue to suck up all the craft I can.

9. Remind myself daily I am a great writer.

Publishing Goals:

1. Submit Overworked and Underlaid in two weeks to my editor. Pray that she loves it. Throw salt over my shoulder if I have to.

2. Learn more about promotion.

3. Promote the hell out of How Much You Want to Bet.

4. Start saving up for RWA conference. (on top of that remember to pay dues.)

5. Network, Network, Network.

6. Figure out what I want from an agent. What type of partnership I want then make a list of top ten agents that fit that and that I want to represent me. Send submissions to those top ten.

7. Accept rejections are ALWAYS going to suck. I don’t have to like it, just have to learn how to deal with it better.

8. Overall understand this business a whole lot more.

9. Go back and look at my career plan and change accordingly, because reality and what I dream my career will be are two different things.

Entry filed under: publishing goals, writing goals.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Carrie Lofty LOOK WHO HAS A RELEASE DATE

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  January 2, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Good luck, Mel! Happy new year. 🙂 I like the rose petals.

    And, oh, a witch! How nice. You’re joining me on the dark side of romancelandia, fantasy and all its subgenre glory! Isn’t it fun? *grin*

  • 2. Mel  |  January 2, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    It is Jess. I’ve always wanted to write a story that had a witch and warlock in them. I may be colored by Nora Robert’s Three Witch or Three Sisters trilogy.

    And thanks for liking the new look. I did it myself and have to say it’s not bad for an amatuer.

  • 3. raine  |  January 2, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Happy New Year, lady.
    And sounds like you’ve got a handle on those goals. 😉

  • 4. Mel  |  January 2, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Happy New Year, Raine. I guess I wanted to be more specific so that I don’t lose focus on what I wanted to get done. We’ll see how it goes.

  • 5. bettye griffin  |  January 2, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Good goals, Mel. But never underestimate the value of a clean manuscript. My editor expressed relief several times when she read over my masterpiece (of course, the copyeditor did the real grunge work, and there was plenty), but it was nice to be praised. Turning it in on time helps, too.

    Editors hate sloppy manuscripts. They’ll deal with it with established authors with multiple deadlines. On the other hand, they might pass on a new author who can’t spell, punctuate, or be grammatical.

    Good things to you in 2008!

  • 6. Katie Reus  |  January 2, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Love the goals! Very specific 🙂 Sounds like you’re heading in the right direction. Good luck in the upcoming year!

  • 7. Jennifer Elbaum  |  January 2, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Lofty goals — best of luck!

  • 8. Mel  |  January 3, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Thank you, Katie. I figured why be vague. So when I’m checking stuff off I can reward myself. That’s the only reason why I give myself insurmountable tasks.

  • 9. Mel  |  January 3, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Thanks Jennifer. And lofty goals? Yup. And luck? I’m going to need it,

  • 10. Mel  |  January 3, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Bettye-Underestimating the value of a clean ms is what got me a rejection. I think I’ve learned that lesson. I can be honest and say I rushed my revisions and copyedits with PD. With O & U this would be the fourth time I’ve gone over the darn thing. It better be clean of at least the little mistakes.

  • 11. Marianne Arkins  |  January 3, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Awesome goals! Good luck.

    And, yeah, rejections always suck.

    LOL…

    Happy New Year!

  • 12. Edie  |  January 3, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Great goals, Mel! I’m pretty good with grammar, but I think I overuse commas.

    I hope all your goals become realities in 2008. 🙂

  • 13. Mel  |  January 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Marianne-Out of the two evils I’d rather have a form rejection then a detailed one.

  • 14. Mel  |  January 3, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks, Edie. I’m not looking to become a grammar whiz, but I’m looking to make sure my writing has clarity and you have to know the rules in order to have a modicum of clarity in your writing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

