916 WORDS…

December 29, 2007 at 10:50 am 6 comments

That I am so glad to report I wrote in one day. I’m not going to jink myself and say I’ve broken free on my writer’s block, but I’ve got a start. Hell, that’s all a writer can ask for. I realized I’ve been scared and too lazy to sit down and write. Fear is a great paralyze-r. Another lesson learned for this year. But right now my characters are talking to me. The first turning point is fuzzy, I’m unsure if the woman the h/h are trying to save will live or die, Grams is going to help push the romance alone, the conflict is still brewing in chapter 4. I have no idea what I’m going to write next.

Basically, I’m pansting my way through as usual.

I am so bleeping happy.

*sigh*

Check out the blog on Monday for another segment of Write Questions. It’s 3 a.m. I can’t tell you who it is, but it will be interesting no less. Otherwise enjoy your last days in 2007.

Entry filed under: Write Questions, writing woes.

2007: DAMN I’VE ACCOMPLISHED A LOT WRITE QUESTIONS: Carrie Lofty

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barrie  |  December 29, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    916 words! Good job. Wish me luck. I’ve off to write myself!

  • 2. Mel  |  December 29, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Good luck, Barrie. It’s amazing to realize how much you appreciate a few words, especially when for a while none would come at all.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  December 31, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Way to end the year on an upswing Mel!

  • 4. CresceNet  |  December 31, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Gostei muito desse post e seu blog é muito interessante, vou passar por aqui sempre =) Depois dá uma passada lá no meu site, que é sobre o CresceNet, espero que goste. O endereço dele é http://www.provedorcrescenet.com . Um abraço.

  • 5. Edie  |  December 31, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Congrats on kicking through the fear block. It’s funny because I was just thinking about fear, that it can paralyze you, but also motivate you to write better.

    I’m a pantser too. I’ve tried plotting, but it stifles my writing.

  • 6. Mel  |  December 31, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Edie-What’s strange to me is that fear of the story being crap makes me want to be a better writer, it makes me dig deeper into craft and write my butt off. Fear that I’m screwing up the mechanics…well, as you can see I’m just now writing again.

    Also I plot when I need to and in the first draft it’s only for the turning points. I see each turning point as a small THE END. It’s the like the carrot on the end of a stick syndrome.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

