2007: DAMN I’VE ACCOMPLISHED A LOT

December 27, 2007 at 2:42 am 17 comments


So I took Jennifer’s advice and tried to make a list of the things I’ve done in 2007. Couldn’t remember a lot so I cruised through my blog post and hit a gold mine. Here’s some of what I’ve accomplished or learned:(the highlights of course)

1. I learned the importance of first lines.

2. I sent out 7 submissions: How Much, 2 times and Protecting Della, 3 times. (2 agent submissions)

3. I received 6 rejections and learned those suckers really do suck, but I believe in myself enough to keep submitting.

4. It’s okay to write a shitty first draft.

5. That turning points should embody your MC’s main fear and not rehashing the past to learn what they need to learn.

6. Wanting to be published and loving to write are two totally different things.

7. Endings should fit the characters not the genre.

8. I wanted to be a better writer more than I wanted to be published. (see number 6)

9. I’m a character driven writer. Most of the story ideas I get come from the character and what they say. Go figure.

10. Deciding to try e-pubs is not giving up on bigger houses. And really after getting rejected by one, NOT JUST ANYONE CAN BE PUBLISHED BY THEM. So…get that thought out of your head if you have it.

11. How important knowing how and what your voice is, is important.

12. How freaking unbelievable meeting other writers can be. I had the time of my life at RWA convention. I’m so going next year, no matter how much it’s going to cost.

13. I can write more than one book a year.

14. Getting one of your books published is the best BLEEPING feeling.

15. Getting one of your books published is the scariest BLEEPING feeling.

16. If you are going to take your writing career seriously you really should have a plan. Because really after I sold I was at a complete lost at what the hell I was supposed to do next. Plan. Plan. Plan.

17. You should not settle for an agent that will take you, but for an agent that you fit with.

Last, but not least…I AM A GREAT FUCKING WRITER!!!!!!!!!

2007 was great.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

WRITE QUESTIONS: Lula Thomas 916 WORDS…

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  December 27, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Mel, you learned a LOT in 2007! Good for you! Hope 2008 is even better for you. šŸ™‚

  • 2. Mel  |  December 27, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks, and I’ll hope the same for you. I really should have put down I’ve gained so many cyber friends.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  December 27, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    That’s a FABULOUS list! You should be SO proud of yourself.

    Glad you found the suggestion helpful, now print it out, and put it somewhere you’ll see it every day, because I know there are days when it feels like we’re making no progress, and it’s nice to have a physical reminder of what we’ve actually accomplished.

    You had a great 2007, and I wish you an AWESOME 2008 as you build on what you’ve learned!

  • 4. Mel  |  December 27, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    The same to you Jennifer. It’s so easy to forget how well you’ve been doing when life is feeling sucky.

  • 5. Kate Diamond  |  December 27, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Three cheers for Mel’s 2007 accomplishments! Can’t wait to see what you come up with in 2008.

  • 6. December/Stacia  |  December 28, 2007 at 12:31 am

    Words we can all live by! šŸ™‚

  • 7. Mel  |  December 28, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Given there is only a few more days of 2007, my release date will be ’08 so that’s a good year if you ask me.

  • 8. raine  |  December 28, 2007 at 5:27 am

    Sounds like one helluva year to me. šŸ˜‰
    Congratulate yourself!

  • 9. Mel  |  December 28, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Trust me I will properly on New Year’s Eve.

  • 10. Patricia W.  |  December 28, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    You learned a lot this year! Give yourself a hand!

    I’ve been working on a similar post for my blog but not quite finished yet.

  • 11. Mel  |  December 28, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Hey, Patricia. I know the feeling. I’ve started to write down my goals for 2008. I’ll post those sometime next week. Can’t wait to see yours. You’ve done a lot of learning yourself.

  • 12. Alyssa Goodnight  |  December 29, 2007 at 4:49 am

    Yay for you! That is definitely a lot!

  • 13. Mel  |  December 29, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Thanks, Alyssa. And hopefully you have a great 2008, too.

  • 14. bettye griffin  |  December 29, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    And I hope 2008 is even better!

    Remember, never stop learning.

  • 15. Mel  |  December 29, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Remember, never stop learning.

    Yeah, I know. There is still so much that goes over my head. Secretly I’m hoping the rules of grammar and punct. is something I can put on my list for next year.

  • 16. Kate S  |  January 1, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Great list, Mel. šŸ™‚ And congratulations on your accomplishments and on keeping those blue progress bar lines moving. I know how hard that can be!

    Happy New Year. šŸ™‚

  • 17. Mel  |  January 2, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Thanks, Kate.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

