COMING OUT

December 22, 2007 at 5:39 pm 8 comments

I’ll be the first to tell you that I don’t do well with secrets. And having me blog about my books has helped me find out about my characters. And after doing some prompts, (and of course spending hours on istock) I’m ready to go back to my story. I’ve accepted it’s going to take some time to get to know the secondary heroine. But the main hero and heroine I have a line on. So let me introduce you to them.

First up Georgia Meed:

She’s intelligent, sensual, reserved, but honest. Of course she has bite. But right now she’s having to face psychic abilities she never wanted. She wouldn’t think of herself as strong even though she is. She has a strong sense of right and wrong and that fits perfectly for the hero.

Troy Evans:

He also has a very strong sense of right and wrong. He’s a cop who doesn’t trust easily. Matter of fact when Georgia comes down to the police station to report her vision, he thinks she a quack, and that she has something to do with the crime committed. I’m definitely having fun with that one.

Troy is strong, balanced, and an alpha. My very first alpha. I can say I’m a little hot under my collar for this hero. These two are going to bump heads. (Can you tell I’m enjoying it?) Right now from their character attributes I can see they will compliment each other. Not sure how I can show it.

Almost forgot to mention Meed’s grandmother, Fiona, has prophesied Troy is Georgia’s ONE. Here’s a very rough scene. (copy written blah, blah)

Troy leaned into her making sure to invade her space. He wanted answers. “Your address and your phone number.”

“Is this proper police procedure?”

Her smooth as silk voice wrapped around his senses, and it took a moment for the question to pull him back. “Where were you on Thursday afternoon at 3 p.m.?”

He narrowed his eyes when she placed a hand on her hip before answering. “Now I’m a suspect.” She titled her head back and laughed showing the long line of her throat.

“Where were you?”

Her eyes stayed on his when she answered. “Meed Books. Fiona Meed and Lana Chester can vouch for me.”

He leaned in closer. She smelled only of soap. “Why didn’t you read me?”

He kept his voice low not understanding why she wasn’t cowering. Where were the nervous ticks? And why would a crazy make him want to reach out and touch the skin on her bare arm.

“You don’t believe me anyway.” She raised her brow in challenge.

“Of course not. I want to know your angle. I want to know who Fiona Meed and Lana Chester are to you? What would they gain by giving you an alibi? I want to know how did you got the information on my officers? How many months did it take you to collect the information? If you know Michelle’s fiancé? And where is she? Is she still alive?”

He had her pinned against the car now. Her head was titled back to keep eye contact with him. He had to give it to her, being this close she looked sane. Any sign of guilt and Georgia would have crushed under the proximity. Even the best criminals needed space to maneuver, literally and figuratively.

“My angle is to keep Michelle alive while your squad keeps their thumbs up their butts, because they are too uptight to believe that maybe psychics do exist.” She took a step forward taking his personal space now.

“Fiona is my grandmother. She says I’m her favorite out of all her grandchildren. Not sure what motivation that falls under. Lana is our employee. She may be hoping to get a raise or a vacation. She has student loans. Since I don’t have 100 years to explain to someone apparently as slow as you are how I know these things, I won’t.”

She took another step and their bodies were touching now. Troy sucked in a breath trying not to take in the scent of her again. Getting angrier by the moment and intrigued as hell. She wasn’t done.

“The condensed version is the moment McGee walked into the observation room I could sense his attraction to Nadia. Lust was coming off him in waves. Nadia’s too busy trying to become Captain to notice. No, I’ve never met the fiancé. Maybe if you weren’t so damn pigheaded I could get a reading off you. And right now Michelle is alive. It’s up to you, and how long you drag your feet to find the man with the scar if she stays that way.” She sucked in a deep breath letting it back out slowly. “Is that all?”

His hand dropped to his side impressed. “You answered them all. How do you know she’s alive?”

Georgia leaned against the car. She looked up as if to find her resolve. “Am I under arrest, Troy?”

He jolted at the use of his first name. He needed to get the situation back under control. He noted her voice held exasperation and exhaustion. The tone mirrored how he felt being stone walled. She started again not waiting for him to answer.

“How about this? McGee is on his way outside to find you to give you information about me. When you’ve had a chance to memorize it and you still think I have something to do with this, then you can find me at the bookstore or at home.”

After being a cop for so many years he’d honed his instincts to razor sharp. Georgia believed everything she told him. She also believed she had nothing to hide. She wouldn’t run. She’d be exactly where she said she’d be.

His frown deepened. “Don’t think to leave town.”

Entry filed under: characterization, inspiration.

MY WRITING MOJO WRITE QUESTIONS: Lula Thomas

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  December 22, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Mel, that was excellent! I really enjoyed it.

  • 2. Mel  |  December 22, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Thank you. I’m just glad to be writing again. Let’s see how long that last.

  • 3. raine  |  December 23, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Very nice, Mel.
    Actually reminds me of something I wrote a couple of years ago…but better, lol.

  • 4. Mel  |  December 23, 2007 at 3:25 am

    Lol, thanks. You know I think that’s natural to always think someone writing is better. That’s why I also think you need to own your voice and your writing. Because I know when I’ve read something really good I step back and ask myself, “what in the hell am I thinking?” Then I usually get back to writing.

  • 5. Anonymous  |  December 23, 2007 at 5:14 am

    Spectacular!!!! The photos of the people are SEXY. If you can harness their sex appeal on paper, then your book will no doubt sizzle. My favorate line is, “She took a step forward taking his personal space now.” This line gets to me…Again, sexy being the theme here. Please forgive me…let me just nit pick a moment just to brain storm with ya…The sentence I just cut and pasted here(just now, above)…I love the imagry …but it is slightly, only slighly, awkard wording…”taking his personal space now”. I’m only saying so because it is such a good line that I want you to notice it and work it. Your writing is definately better than mine and better than average. -No joke. Girl, you’ve got talent.

  • 6. Mel  |  December 23, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks!

  • 7. Miss Mae  |  December 23, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    Good stuff, Mel, and your characters are GORGEOUS!! I just love self-confident (dare I say “too”..LOL..) police hunks!

    MM

  • 8. Mel  |  December 23, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Yeah, I really can’t see a police commander as a Beta male. He’s a leader and he’s responsible for every one.(actions and lives) I can’t stick as a Beta male.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

