MY WRITING MOJO

December 19, 2007 at 5:08 pm 13 comments


First I want to thank every one for commenting on the interview. Next week’s Write Question will be with Lula Thomas. Be sure to check it out.

Now done to business.

So, you ask how has my writing been going?

It hasn’t. I’ve been reading Line by Line, Strunk and White, and Pocket Style Manual. Some of it is sticking, most of it is going over my head. I’m still not ready to give up. But that book is stalled.

The secret story…well, I’ve been writing a paragraph a day. Compared to how much I can put out, my word count is sorely lacking. I just think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. I’m working with 4 POVs. Not recommended for most romances, but then again when have I ever done what’s recommended. (The first scene in How Much…is basically a flash back. My heroine’s cuss, my heroes aren’t really the average heroes.) Right now I think I’m going to write this story in half. Write the main romance, and then write the secondary romance. No telling how long this sucker will be. I’m just trying to get to the first turning point. (God, help me.)

Moral of the post, I’ve lost my writing mojo. I need to find my confidence again.

Give me some suggestions: How do you find your writing mojo?

Entry filed under: writing woes.

WRITE QUESTIONS:Jean Drew writing as Jean Adams COMING OUT

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  December 20, 2007 at 4:32 am

    With my wip, I just let my voice loose, and that got me through the book in record time. I just ran with it, and it felt so good.

    Good luck on getting your mojo back!

  • 2. Mel  |  December 20, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks and I hope my mojo comes back. I’m looking forward to this weekend. I don’t have to work tomorrow and I have Monday and Tuesday off.

  • 3. www.jenniferelbaum.wordpress.com  |  December 20, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Why not make a list of everything you’ve accomplished this year?

    What you’ve written, what you’ve submitted, what you’ve had rejected (definitely give yourself credit for putting yourself out there) and what you’ve had accepted.

    Did you take a class? Go to a conference? Read a book on writing?

    LIST IT ALL!

  • 4. Mel  |  December 20, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    See that’s why I throw these questions out there, because sometimes you get really good answers. I hadn’t thought of making a list of the things I’ve accomplished. (Outcome good or bad.)

    Thanks, Jennifer.

    And everyone else keep them coming.

  • 5. Allie Boniface  |  December 20, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Hey, you changed the look of your blog – I like it!

  • 6. Mel  |  December 21, 2007 at 1:09 am

    Thanks, Allie. I got sick of all that purple.

  • 7. raine  |  December 21, 2007 at 3:46 am

    Write something fun. Something you can just let flow. Something that may never be seen by anyone else, something just for you, just for the helluvit.
    Helps open things up.

  • 8. Mel  |  December 21, 2007 at 6:32 am

    From the advice I’m guessing you’ve been through this before? 🙂

    Thanks, Raine.

  • 9. raine  |  December 21, 2007 at 8:38 am

    From the advice I’m guessing you’ve been through this before?

    Once or twice, lol.

  • 10. bettye griffin  |  December 21, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    Nice new look to your blog, Mel!

    If my “writing mojo” leaves me, I don’t worry . . . because I know it’ll be back in short order.

    Merry Christmas!

  • 11. Mel  |  December 21, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks, Bettye. And the same to you and yours.

    I’m trying not to panic or beat myself up over it. But old habits die hard.

  • 12. Marianne Arkins  |  December 21, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    I LOVE writing prompts– and use them to get jump started. There’s no pressure, it’s all about fun and writing. I’m not writing on a WIP (usually), I don’t care about structure or grammar or spelling. It doesn’t even need a point.

    It just helps me WRITE. And once I get started, I don’t usually stop.

    Good luck.

  • 13. Mel  |  December 22, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Thanks, Marianne. The more I thought about it, the more I realized the pressure of being perfect was getting to me. I’m definitely taking Raine’s and yours advice. Also to prepare for my end of the year post I’ll list all that I’ve done for my writing career.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

