UPDATE, UPDATE, UPDATE, part 3

December 13, 2007 at 8:36 am 4 comments

Well, I’m going to fail most of my classes, but that’s okay. I’ve gotten my drive back and I’m going to finish school come hell or high water.

Also, I’ve decided to resubmit PROTECTING DELLA, once I’ve read a few more books on grammar and punc. I’ve got a few laying around the house. I want to finish out the year with being a better writer in mind.

Also, I’ve gotten my galleys. I’m so freaking excited, my book will get a print release. I’m on page 103 and have maybe 50 more pages to go through. So far I’ve only got 8 things I want to change. God, I’m so proud of this book. It’s kind of a eye opening experience reading back what I’ve wrote (once it’s been edited). I’m humbled and excited and I just can’t wait to hold my book in my hands. I can’t begin to describe how proud I am of not letting go of my dreams. I think that’s the main reason I’ve decided to revise PD. I’ve worked my butt off on that book. It deserves one last hurrah before I put it to bed.

So, this post is more or less just rambling, but I wanted to post my favorite part out of the whole entire book. It’s from the first love. This is her climax i.e. orgasm. Also this is what writers mean when making it more than just about sex. Plus, I think it’s the best damn writing I’ve ever done in my life. Subtle, yet provocative. (Copy written, I’ve got the publishing page to prove it.) Enjoy:

The need was so strong, if it had been a noise it would have broken the sound barrier. Instead, it felt like it broke something inside her and then filled the empty space back again with something new and nameless, something that took all her breath and left her replete and stained with the memory of it.

Entry filed under: galleys, How Much You Want To Bet, sex.

WHY REJECTIONS REALLY SUCK PREPPING FOR THE NEW YEAR

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  December 13, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    Ooh, I love the image! Great writing!

  • 2. Mel  |  December 14, 2007 at 12:44 am

    It’s the one part that didn’t change through out all my editing and once again when my editor went through my book. I think all she changed was the comma placement.

  • 3. Edie  |  December 15, 2007 at 2:23 am

    Love it, Mel! That’s awesome writing.

  • 4. Mel  |  December 15, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Thanks. Buy the book. Lol. I had to slip that one in somewhere. But really thanks. I have a WOW! moment every time I read those sentences. There are so perfect that I couldn’t have added or cut to make them better. If only the rest of my writing could be that way.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

