SYNOPSIS AND DEMAND FOR PRODUCTIONS

December 6, 2007 at 4:22 pm 4 comments

I know I said I wouldn’t be here, but I’ve got a few moments to kill before heading to work. Anyway, I wanted to show you a glimpse into my life.

Depending on the day I’m juggling a million different. But lately there have been two sides to my writer self. The writer who is just trying to get an A and the writer who’s trying to make a good go of my publishing career.

Here’s the first paragraph of an assignment I had to turn in yesterday.

TO DEFENDANT NITA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND ATTORNEY OF RECORD:
Request is hereby made upon you by plaintiff Vending Operator, Inc.
1.That you produce to the undersigned, as attorney for requesting party, within thirty days of the date hereof, all documents and things relating to or falling within the following description:
a. Any all correspondence, memorandum, general reports, inspection reports, and surveys prepared by Chris Della Valle about complaints and praise of plaintiff’s performance concerning the vending sites.

This is a demand for production, basically it’s saying give me this or else. I’m trying to prove my case and you have evidence I need you dolt. And I’m going to play hard ball until you do.

This is the first paragraph of my synopsis for I Said Never. (And yes I finished it, and yes I’ll probably revise the damn thing a million times.)

From a logical standpoint Phoenix will never attribute a tarot reading as the reason her life is going down the crapper. Yet, if she lets herself believe in fate for a moment then getting the call her mother is dead less than 20 minutes after it is more than a coincidence.

Two sides to the same writer. No wonder my head hurts 90 percent of the time.

How about you? How many writer hats do you wear?

Blog amended to add:

You guys thought what I did with my plot board was overwhelming. Check this link out. You’ll think I’m a slacker.

http://tinyurl.com/28xz7z

Entry filed under: writing.

PINS AND NEEDLES CRACK IN A CUP

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toni Lyons  |  December 7, 2007 at 3:53 am

    I like your first paragraph. 🙂
    -I don’t wear hats; they mess up my hair. LOL

  • 2. Edie  |  December 8, 2007 at 1:35 am

    I wear hats, but on my head, lol. I like your first paragraph too. 🙂

    The only thing I’m writing besides blogs and mss. right now is Christmas cards and (sob) bills.

  • 3. Mel  |  December 9, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Toni-My hair always look like I’ve combed it with a weed whacker. May be the reason.

  • 4. Mel  |  December 9, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Edie-Bills? Geez,don’t get me started.

    As to the first paragraph…I think I rewrote it at least five times before I got it down to a science. Very hard to sum up the premise of a 80k book in three-four lines. But the synopsis is still too long and I have to trim the hell out of it without losing the gist of the story. Plus the book is in first person so it feels strange talking about it in third person.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

