PINS AND NEEDLES

December 4, 2007 at 4:40 pm 8 comments

Still no word on my submission to the Crimson Line. Still no word from my editor on the last installment of rewrites I sent to her. After these my book will go to the production people and I’ll get galleys. I’ll also find out the verdict if my book will be coming out as an e-release only. I’ve also sent off my second query to an agent. STILL NO WORD.

I can’t take the pressure.

Also the first query I sent I did get a rejection, but the nicest rejection I’ve ever received in this business. My guess is the agent is still new to the game. Or maybe I’m just cynical.

The next two weeks I probably won’t get much writing done. FINALS, FINALS, FINALS. Oh, how I hate them. Doesn’t help I did poorly this semester. I’ll be glad to get a C in two of my classes. The math class…Definitely an F.

You live and you learn.

Also, in order to study and finish homework I won’t be in the internet much. *sob* I may even have to hide the modem from myself. I can always throw it in my storage where a million and one spiders reside. I’ll have to be desperate to go in there. Hmm, this is always the computer at work…NO.

So if you don’t hear much from me, then you know why.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

THIS IS WHY I WRITE ROMANCE SYNOPSIS AND DEMAND FOR PRODUCTIONS

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelle Sandell  |  December 5, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m still kinda new at the submission game but I can see how it’d be easy to get cynical. Good luck on your agent queries!

    I suck at Math girl…Literature, no problem!

  • 2. Toni Lyons  |  December 5, 2007 at 4:02 am

    It’s hard to wait, huh? You are so pro-active and productive, you’ll get through it. -Oh YES you will!

    What are you studying in school? Oh and the math, I love math. -Just hop on a plane and I’ll tutor you. My school has free tutoring. Does yours?

    About the computer, it calls to me in my sleep. It’s a big time waster. Well, don’t worry about rushing back until you can. Pop in when you get over the hump. I’ll be waiting for you, my love, until my heart beats no more. LOL Now you know why I’m a “struggling” writer.

  • 3. Patricia W.  |  December 5, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Best wishes with Finals. Take a break from writing–and the waiting–and focus on school. When you’re done, celebrate. Then get back to wait…uh, writing.

  • 4. Mel  |  December 5, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Chelle- It’s completely my defense mechanism to be prepared for a rejection. Every day I tell myself it’s not personal. They just don’t like my writing.

    Needless to say it’s complete B.S. because when I get a yes it’s a huge celebration and I’m saying they like me, they really like me.

    I guess it’s all part of being a writer.

  • 5. Mel  |  December 5, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Toni-I’m studying to be a paralegal, which is basically an attorney without taking the bar. I’m learning how to write pleadings, a brief, decipher the goobly gop that cases are written in and translate it to a client and/or attorney to get the gist. If I don’t mess up too badly I’ll be done by the end of summer.

    And math I completely get. I don’t have trouble. For me it’s easy. It’s staying interested that’s the problem. Sitting down and doing 100 math problems, going to class and hearing the teacher go, “blah, blah, factor out, blah blah.” I don’t have the patience. I’m going to retake it this summer. No big deal. I look at it as 6 weeks vs. 5 months of hearing, “blah, blah, quadratic equation, blah, blah.”

  • 6. Mel  |  December 5, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Patricia-Just pray for me. I need the strength to get through these last two weeks before I collaspe into a quivering mass of nerves.

    I CAN’T TAKE THE PRESSURE!

  • 7. Edie  |  December 6, 2007 at 12:58 am

    I hate waiting too. And it’s ironic that we do so much of it in this business. Good luck with your submission and your classes! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  • 8. Mel  |  December 6, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks, Edie. I turned in my last homework assignments for this semester. And now all I have to do is memorize two text books. *sob*

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

