MORAL OF THE STORY IS

November 19, 2007 at 3:53 am 8 comments

1. I’ll never do that again. If the book isn’t ready I’m going to act like I haven’t written ANYTHING.

2. Writing CAN BE PAINFUL.

3. Coffee is not a meal.

4. Chain smoking is bad for you.

5. Sleep should not be optional.

6. Cleaning the house IS optional.

7. CUT, CUT, CUT, CUT, CUT, CUT….

8. CUT, CUT…is there an echo in here?

Anyway, I’m done. I’ve hit send. I’m going to try to block this weekend out. It won’t be hard to do. I’ve gotten about 8 hours of sleep since Friday. CUT, CUT, CUT…There definitely is an echo in here.

Since I’m a glutton I’ve went to istock(really I couldn’t take the story anymore and needed a break) Anyway, I’ve found some pics for OVERWORKED AND UNDERLAID


This is the Red Demon. Aiden’s car. They had a lot of sex in this car. He still drives it to this day. He just painted it green.

This depicts the fourth turning point. Her friend makes her wear a wedding dress.

This looks like the Jukebox where Aiden plays Donny Hathaway’s For all we know for the first time in the story. Such a beautifl song. It fits who Aiden is pefectly. If you’ve never heard the song. Go find it and listen to it.

Entry filed under: revising, submitting, writing woes.

I GUESS I HAVE STATUS NOW THIS IS THE STORY THAT NEVER ENDS….

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toni Lyons  |  November 19, 2007 at 5:08 am

    Your funny; what you write in your blog is so true and represents the life of a neuotic writer perfectly. You crack me up. I like your pictures (your story board). I don’t use pictures to help me write but it does seem like a good tactic. I like the picture of the woman in the wedding dress; by the looks of the tiny-small picture, she looks dismayed over something.

  • 2. Mel  |  November 19, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Using pictures have helped me think of part of my story in a different light. Things that may not have seemed important come to the forefront of my mind. I’m also a very visual person and I want see what’s in my head and I search for the right picture.
    Bottom line it gets me thinking about my book in a different light.

    Also I made the picture bigger.

    Also, it took me becoming a writer to realize I wasn’t crazy. I was absolutely normal for a writer. As a non-writer I was going to make my way to the coo-coo ward.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  November 19, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    The pics are really interesting. Thanks for sharing your process!

  • 4. Toni Lyons  |  November 19, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Looking at the middle picture again, she doesn’t look dismayed; she looks dead. Is that blood drool, I see? That’s a great picture for reving the imagination. Where do you find your picture? I would guess that you just search the internet.

  • 5. Mel  |  November 19, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Jennifer-I figured why not share the crazy. And when I started I knew absolutely nothing about how to get myself writing. What would help me. I was on the eharlequin forums and it was a lot of help, but I didn’t know what questions to ask. So if a newbie stumbles on my blog and it actually helps then I feel good about it.

    Hell, I’ll settle for a few chuckles though.

  • 6. Mel  |  November 19, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    No, she’s not dead. Looking at the picture again it looks like she has a smirk. No blood 🙂 I don’t know something just struck me about the picture that I wanted to download it for Overworked and Underlaid. I’ll probably make a collage when I go back to

    istockphoto.com

    They have milions of pictures. You type in any word and they have a picture of it. You buy credits (10 credits are like 13 bucks) and you can download the picture and it’s yours. You should check out the place if you ever want to collage your book.

  • 7. Edie  |  November 20, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    Love the picture of the woman in the wedding dress. My chapter had a collage workshop this weekend, but that’s not for me. My book is in my head and I don’t need a visual image.

  • 8. Mel  |  November 20, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Collaging isn’t for every body. The strange thing for me is that I usually don’t go to find picture until after I’ve written the first draft. Hmm, I think I’m going to do a post about this.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

