SO CLOSE I CAN TASTE IT

November 12, 2007 at 5:30 pm 8 comments

I’m so not making my word count for this novel. At least not the first time around. I have five more major scenes I need to write. A sex scene, the wedding, the heroine leaving and the hero letting her go,the heroine’s last and final turning point, and the HEA. That’s all folks.

Yesterday, I wrote 3,557 words and the ending was becoming clearer. I actually jumped ahead and wrote parts of the fourth turning point. (I never jump ahead)But that scene was like a movie playing in front of my eyes. I had to get it down and when I did I started to cry, because the heroine is letting go of all the stuff (emotional baggage)that is keeping her from the hero. For me letting go is so powerful. It’s really speaking your fears out loud. I’ve only written one other scene in my career as a writer that made me sob. (its in I SAID NEVER and it’s also a turning point, the heroine finally cries. Throughout the whole book the character doesn’t cry even when she’s at her Mom’s funeral, even when I threw all the other stuff at her when a sane person would have shed a few tears, I never said she was sane, so that scene is the most important in the whole entire book.)

I digress. Things are going to get ugly. (Imagine the scene in SOMETHINGS GOTTA GIVE type of crying)That scene is going to be a killer and after I write it I may have to stop and go back to my writing later. My goal is to get to page 220(in a good world 220 pages x 250 words a page = 55,000 words, in the real world that’s probably 45k maybe, I’m at page 192. SO FREAKING CLOSE. (And to appease the obsessive part of me I changed my goal to 50k, much more realistic since I know 55k) is a dream.

I’m tasting the ending here. Gotta go. And have a good Veteran’s Day(even though it was really yesterday)

side note: here’s the clip (if you’ve never seen the movie) and it’s in Spanish, but you’ll get the gist.

BLOG AMENDED TO ADD:

Officially at 1:11 a.m. on November 13, 2007 I finished the first draft of OVERWORKED AND UNDERLAID.

Words added for this week: 8,894 (in two days people)
Actual word count:44,230
Total pages:221 (which means in a good world I’m at 55,250!!)
Brain Status: Dead
Total books completed this year: 3
Finishing a book: Priceless
(really you should have seen that one coming)

Entry filed under: the end, the process.

HOUSE FULL OF SMART ASSES DALLAS 2007

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  November 13, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Love the movie. Mel, you rocked with this book! I hope it’s awesome!

    I cried with two of my endings. My CPs cried reading the end of my last book, and I loved it that I made them cry. šŸ™‚

  • 2. Mel  |  November 13, 2007 at 4:16 am

    “My CPs cried reading the end of my last book, and I loved it that I made them cry.”

    And that’s the hard part. I can cry because I’m the writer, I know all her hurts, I know she’s being so brave by even talking about what’s she’s buried for years. But will it be enough to move the reader? At least pull an “ahhh, poor baby” out of them. Who knows. I did cry during the sex scene. It’s from the hero’s POV. I might post it. I might just finish the bottle of wine I bought a few days ago, because this ending is going to kill me.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!

  • 4. Jess  |  November 13, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Congrats on finishing – now to get my own butt in gear – ugh I’m being such a bad Cherry lately!

    And great cover. šŸ™‚

  • 5. Mel  |  November 13, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Jennifer-Thanks and I’m glad to say it didn’t kill me after all. I just feel like a brain zombie.

  • 6. Mel  |  November 13, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Jess-BAD CHERRY!

  • 7. Portia Da Costa  |  November 14, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Just saw your post over at Sven… Well done on finishing that first draft!

    You’ve got the big task done, now it’s just fine tuning. Way to go!:)

  • 8. Mel  |  November 14, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Thanks, Portia.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

