UPDATE, UPDATE, UPDATE, part 2

November 7, 2007 at 1:22 am 9 comments

Well, I’m still neurotic, but today it is manageable. Last night I finally made one of my word counts. HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO BET? is officially over 40k. Yay!! So that means I’ll come out with an e-release and a book release. All of this still feels surreal. Right now it’s still me and my computer.(most days) I’m trying to keep the blinders on so the panic won’t set in. (i’m going to be published!!!) Besides yesterday’s post I’ve been doing fine. *snort*

Did you guys just hear something?

Anyway, OVERWORKED AND UNDERLAID is going slowly, but surely. At the moment the heroine has an unlit cigar in her mouth, playing poker with Aiden and Uncle Butch. She’s going to learn something very valuable about family and about love not being DEATH, (yes, her and Butch see some things eye to eye). Aiden’s heart is going to tumble and trip and he won’t know how to deal with it. Slowly, but surely these last 68 pages are going to kill me. I’m amping up the emotion, but at least by tonight I’ll have my third turning point. Slowly, but surely. I have faith I’ll be done before the New Year. *snort*

Did you just hear something?

Anyway, how are things going for you? New projects? Projects that won’t die? Weird snorting noises coming from blogsphere? Let me know…

Blog amended to add: You know those blinders? Kind of hard to do today. This was waiting in my e-mail. They used my pic of Neil as my book cover (How cool is that?)

Entry filed under: progress.

COME HELL OR HIGH WATER… IN CASE YOU MISSED IT

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer Elbaum  |  November 7, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    LOL

    Head down. Blinders on. You’ll get there!

  • 2. Edie  |  November 8, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Mel, you’re doing great! I went through all my books yesterday. I’m getting rid of 2/3 of them. I’m being ruthless!

  • 3. Mel  |  November 8, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Jennifer-You’ve got to do what you’ve got to do.

  • 4. Mel  |  November 8, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Edie-You are brave. I need to clean mine out also. I think having over 1,000 in a three bedroom apartment is stretching it. My local library loves me. I always bring books in mint condition. It never seems to make a dent because I’ve bought a million and donate 50.

  • 5. Natalie Anderson  |  November 8, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    oooh – that cover’s definitely a goodie!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

  • 6. Mel  |  November 9, 2007 at 3:41 am

    Thank you Natalie.

  • 7. Toni Lyons  |  November 9, 2007 at 5:07 am

    Your website is awesome. I read that you were looking for a critique partner on Harlequin’s site, but your way too advance for the likes of me. I LOVE YOUR BOOK COVER!!! Your title, How Much You Want To Bet?, is great. At first, I read it as, How Much You Wanna Bet? -My slang interpretation. Wow, everything here seems so professional. Good job.

  • 8. Julie Cohen  |  November 9, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Great cover!

  • 9. Mel  |  November 9, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Toni-Never let the word “Published” fool you. I’m struggling along just like you. At one point in time I also thought published=more knowledge or better writting. NOT TRUE.

    And here’s a little secret. The title used to be HOW MUCH YOU WANNA BET? but I was trying to use good grammar and ditched it. *sigh* should have kept it.

    Anyway, thanks for loving my cover.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

