COME HELL OR HIGH WATER…

November 5, 2007 at 8:58 pm 8 comments

WARNING: PURE NEUROSIS STRAIGHT AHEAD

I’m going to meet my word count. If you’ve been around here for at least 3 months or hit up my archives you know getting to the desire word count has always been my problem. At the moment if I go by the 250 x pg# formula I’m at “36000” In reality I’m about hit 30k. Which means I need to churn out 7 more chapters (10 pages a chapter). In the long run that means I’m going to be done way ahead of schedule. (yay me!) In reality that means for the rest of December my stomach is going to be in knots, because I’m probably hovering over 50k, just barely. *sigh*

But you want to know a secret? I’m almost done and that is scaring the crap out of me. So you know what I do? I obsess, I bite my nails, I freak about plot holes. I always have plot holes what makes this time any different? I’m speeding towards the third turning point (probably less than 5k from it) and my characters need to start getting some insight into how they feel about each other. Am I doing it successfully? Probably not. This middle ground/writing war zone is looking a little sludgy from here.

Someone pass me a brown paper bag to breathe in.

Okay, I’m fine. (as fine as I’ll ever be) I’ve also digressed horribly. My word count is bothering me, not fear that I’ve been writing crap for the past few weeks, Word count, Concentrate, 72 more pages, focus–Don’t go too far I still might need that brown paper bag to to breathe in.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

THE WRITING: it has to be fun or what’s the point? UPDATE, UPDATE, UPDATE, part 2

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  November 6, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Deep breaths, woman!!

    Remember–that’s what revisions are for. Take it easy on yourself!

  • 2. Mel  |  November 6, 2007 at 3:28 am

    Sorry, Raine. I was having a moment. I hit that beautiful “this is crap” wall.

    My only excuse is that I’ve been reading a lot of good books lately. I’ve enjoyed them, but came back to my own writing feeling bleah.

    The short: insecurity, fear, and oh, almost forgot fear.

  • 3. raine  |  November 6, 2007 at 5:43 am

    Don’t feel “bleah”, honey.
    Feel inspired! 😉

    And I don’t know a single writer who doesn’t suffer from some insecurity. You’re in great company, lol.

  • 4. Mel  |  November 6, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Raine- 🙂 Thanks. And this is the exact reason why I love writers. They so bleeping supportive. In other careers you co-workers might just let you wallow so they can walk over your carcass.

    And the silver lining is if I never worried what I was writing was pure crap then I need to just bow out of this game. So it is natural. (not the neurosis, but the worrying.)

    And what are you doing over here? Go post something. I love your blog.

  • 5. Patricia W.  |  November 6, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    You’re allowed your moment. Now get to it! 🙂

    At least the really good books have you scared. I’m reading a new release that’s so bad, I’m wondering whether it’s worth the effort to do better.

  • 6. Mel  |  November 6, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Books like that do make me wonder and at the same time makes me write better. (I’d hate to have a truly crappy book out there on the market.)

  • 7. Edie  |  November 8, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    I’m with Raine. Every one of my books has had holes I fix during revisions. I have moments of insecurity too. Even with my wip, which went pretty smoothly and I’ve been loving it, I’m worried. That’s part of the business. I have a multi-published friend who freaks out all the time – and then her editor loves her books, lol.

  • 8. Mel  |  November 8, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Edie-We should start a support group outside of places like RWA.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

