THE WRITING: it has to be fun or what’s the point?

November 3, 2007 at 9:32 am 4 comments

Update on the Sweat: I met my goal for the week (of getting to 27,500) by getting to 27,757. I can have fun tomorrow with my writing without the pressure of thinking I have to write such and such words by midnight. Anyway, about the post. What I’ve realized is that writing has to be fun for me in the first draft. I like to think of it as the courtship, I’m finding out things about the story, the character’s. I go ahead and give myself permission to write things I’m going to cut later.

But the main thing I like to do is have character’s who are uncoothed. The type of people who embarrass you out in public, but secretly they are your favorite person. I think I’ve found that person today. This huge wedding is about to go down in the book. Every family memeber is coming out of the wood works and this poor small town is going to be busting at its seams. I can already feel how chaotic things are going to be. I can see scenes where the heroine is going to reach out to the hero to save her from her family. Have her see how much he enjoys being around his. Make that gap of “we can never be together” larger. *sigh* I love it.

But I digress. Character that makes you cringe and laugh at the same time. Let me introduce you to Uncle Butch: (sidenote they are in a tuxedo shop and this is copywritten and very rough)

“…Who’s the smartest out of the bunch?” (Aiden)

“Neither one of you.” His Uncle Butch said from the corner. He talked around the unlit cigar in his mouth. That morning Aiden had to give up the ultimate bachelor title to his uncle. “From what I hear you won’t learn and you,” He pointed a finger at Shep. “Just lost all rational thought. It’s not like Nicole’s pregnant and you have to get married.”

“That’s an ugly image. Thanks, Unc.”

Butch rolled the cigar to the other side of his mouth. “Don’t get me started on you boy. The thrill should have been gone for you with that girl.”

“Her name is Megan.”

Butch puffed his chest. “Excuse me.”

Shep sighed. “Maybe he’ll take some pointers from you.”

Only if he planned to never have Megan talk to him again. Aiden at scowled Shep’s back. “What are you doing here anyway?”

“Trying to talk some sense into my brother. If that doesn’t work at least make him look decent when he walks down the aisle.”

“I know how to dress myself.”

“From the plaid shirt you had on earlier I’d disagree. Ain’t thinking with your head if you ask me.”

Aiden bite back the chuckle. He saw where Shep learned it from. “What’s wrong with marriage?”

“It’s death for any man. Why do you think women live longer? Because the moment the man signed the marriage certificate he signed his own death warrant.”

“Butch that’s absurd.”

“I’ll be at your funeral in ten years.”

“What’s to say your going to live any longer. You smoke, you drink, you’ve gone through all the women at your living facility. One of them is bond to shoot you tomorrow.” Shep shook his head as he tried to tie the bow.

“Nonsense. I haven’t gone through all the women. New ones come in every day. Good living.”

Aiden grinned. “When is Uncle Bobby is going to make it?”

“That fool.” Butch didn’t reserve his venom for his other brother. “He’s the best example of what marriage can do to a man. Marriage addled brain I tell you.” He pointed his finger this time at Aiden. “Don’t do it. It’s death.” His grinned widened. Man he loved his family.

“Shut up, Butch, and help me with this tie.”

“Be fitting if it chokes you.” He said but went over to his brother to help him. “Think a grown man would have more sense than this.”

“See, son, this is a bachelor addled brain. I’m not saying do anything. Matter fact you better not do anything. I’m just pointing out what can happen.”

“Duly noted.”

“Don’t chastise the boy for dipping. It’s natural at his age.”

“The dipping isn’t what I have a problem with and must we be crude?”

Butch stared at him. “Addled. Marriage. Save yourself from it. Dip and dip only.”

“Only with my chicken wings. Back to Uncle Bobby. Mom is willing to have him and his wife stay at her place.”

“And where am I supposed to stay?”

Aiden sighed. “You can stay with me, but I’m telling you now the alcohol is for the party.”

Butch patted Shep’s chest finished with the tie. “I promise to only steal two bottles.”

“None.” Aiden said.

“The Barcardi. I here Chandi’s here.”

“No.” Both Aiden and his Uncle said.

“I wouldn’t do anything Jesus wouldn’t do. Just lay hands on her.”

“Add blasphemy to being ignorant.” Shep pointed out and then sighed. Aiden laughed, yes, he loved his family.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PLOT? WHAT IS THAT? COME HELL OR HIGH WATER…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonja Foust  |  November 4, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    🙂 Too cute.

  • 2. Edie  |  November 5, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    LOve it, Mel! I don’t have characters like that in my book. Maybe my next one. *g*

  • 3. Mel  |  November 5, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Thanks for coming by Sonja.

  • 4. Mel  |  November 5, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Edie-I believe strongly in comic relief. The hero/heroine can be in certain scenes, but they can never get away with what a secondary character can.

    And to be honest when you have a book that will showcase a multitude of family (characters) you might as well abuse this technique. The worst an editor can say is CUT IT. But I’m going to have so much fun writing it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

