PROGRESS I TELL YA

October 29, 2007 at 4:10 pm 13 comments

Yesterday was a very good writing day. The kids were gone. The house was clean. And it was just me and my computer. Most days like this I sleep or read. I don’t move from the spot unless I need to eat or use the bathroom. Yesterday I decided to write.

I clocked in at (about 20-25 pages)5,089 words then I felt drained. A little less than half of that was me trying to find the conflict. I found it then lost it and found it again somewhere at the end.

What I learned from yesterday’s writing:

1. My hero’s voice. He’s kind of funny. He’s really hurt by what the heroine did to him, but he still loves her deeply. Which makes me love him more.

2. How my heroine’s deep inner conflict with her mother is going to change her as a person. Funny how a few lines can be like a lightbulb moment. She owns a clothing store. A detail I picked out of the air, but now it makes sense. Here’s the paragraph:

“Why a clothing store?” (the hero)

He smiled at her obvious expression of relief. “I always thought if you wore the right thing it could make you feel beautiful. It could make people stop and admire you. You wouldn’t be invisible.” Megan shrugged.

No big deal when you read it, but knowing that her mother never saw her makes me realize that opening a clothing store is her way to make her mother see her. This makes Megan real for me. We all do things to rectify our past. Most times we don’t recognize it for what it is. I may not be so obvious when I revise the story, but this is something I need to know to give my heroine an arc she deserves.

3. My hero is willing to do anything to get the heroine to stay. He doesn’t see his actions as doing that. Which makes me see his arc.(and gives me the black moment) He has to let her go. Which points me to the theme. The whole if you let something go that you love and it comes back to you then it’s meant to be. And how it ties in to where I’m at in my life right now is kind of scary. For the past year I’ve been letting go of things I have no control over. Hmm, very scary or just the Girls in the Basement?

4. I know how the book is going to end, but I didn’t know how to resolve it until yesterday and not make it seem like the hero or heroine is sacraficing their values, beliefs for love. I hate endings like that. Now I know how to do it and not be disgusted with myself.

Back to the soapbox. This is why I say write crap, because 9 times out of 10 you’ll hit a gold mine. It’s wading back through the crap that is frustrating.

How are your stories going?

Entry filed under: characterization, progress, utter crap, writing.

THIS IS FOR MY SWEAT-ERS THE DAY OF THE DEAD

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  October 29, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    Sounds like you hit the mother lode. Good for you!

    Polishing my entry for the Super contest, then it’s back to revisions.

  • 2. Edie  |  October 29, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Mel, this is a great blog! I find out so many things about my characters as I write too. This is why it’s a waste of time for me to plot, lol.

    Im another week or so I’ll finish my first draft. I’ll take a couple days off then hop on revisions.

  • 3. Mel  |  October 29, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Patricia-So good for you! When you send that baby off you’re probably going to sleep for a week.

  • 4. Mel  |  October 29, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Edie-Most times you have to tell that internal editor to shut up to hear your characters. Every now and then I try to take my own advice. lol.

    Anyway, make sure you post about writing THE END. I’ll help you party cyber style.

  • 5. Jess  |  October 29, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Slowly but steadily, thanks. 🙂

  • 6. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 29, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Congrats on your progress!

  • 7. Mel  |  October 29, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Jess-My theory, if it gets you from point A to B….

  • 8. raine  |  October 30, 2007 at 5:53 am

    You definitely know those characters!
    I usually know my guys right off, but the heroines can be a bitch to get into.
    Wtg. 😉

  • 9. Mel  |  October 30, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Raine-I’m the complete opposite.

  • 10. Daisy Dexter Dobbs  |  October 31, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    5,089 words? Wow, Mel, that’s sensational! When you get down to writing, you don’t mess around! 😀

    I think your story and characters are really interesting. Keep up the great work and soon you’ll have a bestseller on your hands! 🙂

  • 11. Mel  |  October 31, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Daisy-First I must gush. I love your blog.

    Best Seller-Oh, a writer’s dream.

  • 12. bettye griffin  |  November 1, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Over 5,000 words in one day is pretty damn good! Pat yourself on the back for that accomplishment.

    I’ve given myself a deadline for the end of the year on my WIP, which will still give me six months to complete a book I’m contracted to write. While the story has always had a shape, it’s beginning to fill out. Overall, I’m pretty pleased with my daily progress.

  • 13. Mel  |  November 1, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Bettye-You sound like a woman after my own heart. I also try to use my time to work in my favor.

    I’m making revisions with my editor and hoping when all the i’s are dotted and t’s crossed I can give her something else.

    Good luck on your progress and maybe we can have a cyber party when we both finish our WIP.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

