THIS IS FOR MY SWEAT-ERS

October 28, 2007 at 3:15 pm 7 comments


At some point in any writing challenge your word count sucks. This is natural. It may be for several reasons. The most common is that you’ve lost interest in what you are writing. Now this may be for several reasons also. The most common is that you’re in the wrong POV. The second most common is that you’ve violated characterization.

The first step to fixing this is to scream out your frustration. The second I recommend is to print off the pages you think are the problem, and then burn them in a nice bonfire and dance naked around them. Or eat chocolate, read a book, clean those baseboards, go for a long drive. Get the story out of your head for a little while.

Then you get your bum back in that chair. If you are still at a lost what to write talk to your characters. I’ve done it and only for a split second did I think “I must be crazy.” but then my character started talking. I got to know her. 90 percent of what I found out about her didn’t go into the story, but I could write again.

You can collage. I swear by it. If for no other reason than to find a placeholder for your hero. Find the hottest guy and imagine what you’re heroine would do them him once she gets him naked. Then let your mind wander to why she wouldn’t let herself even if the man was willing, no questions asked. (Do you see where I’m going with this?)

If that doesn’t work write a synopsis. If you already have one put your finger firmly on the delete key and write out another.

It’s my belief that the only way to get out of the black hole of writer’s block is to write or to do something writing related.

Lastly, and more important, DO NOT BEAT YOURSELF UP. Do realize that you are your worst enemy when it comes to self-doubt. Do accept you are the only one who can get those words on the page. Let it go that those words are (may be) utter crap. Write them anyway. Trust that you can fix it. Then come back here to tell me if it worked or not.

Okay, I’m off my soapbox. Be glad I’m not Sven. And YOU go write, or knit, or clean, or do laundry, or…you get the point.

Blog Amended to Add:
Not sure if you didn’t know the start of NaNoWriMo has killed every word meter within a five mile radius.

Entry filed under: butt in chair, inspiration, writing woes.

UPDATE, UPDATE, UPDATE PROGRESS I TELL YA

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bettye griffin  |  October 28, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I’m trying to push myself without the Sweat challenge this time around. I just finished an important scene, so it’s not quantity I’m accomplishing this weekend, it’s quality. Now it’s back to the

    Great post.

  • 2. Mel  |  October 28, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    “I just finished an important scene, so it’s not quantity I’m accomplishing this weekend, it’s quality.”

    For me this is the hardest part of writing. Did I hit the right tone? Did I overdo it? What can I write or delete to make this scene GOOD?

    I say the good thing about writing challenges it gives you the permission (to write crap) you probably wouldn’t give yourself without it.

    Anyway, I’m long winded even in my comment. So to get to my point…thanks for stopping by Bettye.

  • 3. Renee Lynn Scott  |  October 29, 2007 at 1:52 am

    Thanks for your wise advice. On my blog and even more great advice here.

  • 4. Mel  |  October 29, 2007 at 2:12 am

    Thanks, Renee. I was reading the comments on the check-in and felt the need to say something. And if what I say helps then I’m then I’m all for it.

  • 5. Merry  |  October 29, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks for the tips Mel, they’re really useful and should help avoid a lot of head/ wall contact!

  • 6. Mel  |  October 29, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Merry-Caution Head-Wall contact may still occur. lol.

  • 7. Marianne Arkins  |  November 5, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Me=Struggling.

    Struggling, struggling, struggling… but still moving foward.

    Good post 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

