A DAY IN THE LIFE

October 17, 2007 at 6:41 pm 15 comments

Life is like an onion: You peel it off one layer at a time, and sometimes you weep.
~Carl Sandburg

7a.m.: I sneak off for one cup of coffee keeping my eyes closed, because mornings are the spawn of Satan.

7:15: My son comes in whining, because to him mornings are also the spawn of Satan.

7:30: I talk my son into waking up his sister. He enjoys this. She thinks he is the spawn of Satan. Some days I don’t have an argument against her observation. I know who his father is.

8a.m.: I’m thanking God my daughter is not late for school again. I might have a warrant out on my arrest sooner or later for getting her there at 8:05. Our school district is shortsighted. She gets there everyday, but that alone isn’t good enough.

8:10: I take a deep breath.

9a.m.: The insanity starts. Depending on the day I’m either at school or at work.

5p.m.: I once again congratulate myself on perfecting the sleeping while my eyes are open look. Who said I’m not talented?

6:30: I act like I really care about the subject my teachers are trying to shove down my throat. Okay, let me be honest. I act like I really care about factoring binomials, polynomials, trinomials, etc.

9:30: I get to see my kids again. They are so happy to see me that they ask a million questions in the matter of 10 minutes.

9:40: “Can you be quiet for ten bleeping minutes!”

9:50: “Stop hitting your sister.”

10p.m.: “Stop teasing your brother.”

10:10: I’m considering not for the first time donating my uterus to science.

10:30-11:59: If I’m lucky I am writing.

12a.m.: My head finally hits a pillow

Entry filed under: my life.

THE OLD ADAGE I’M ON A ROLL

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  October 17, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    Rough life. I don’t envy you, but I do admire that you are making time for your writing.

  • 2. Lauren Dane  |  October 17, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    LOL, I know the feeling. Pretty much my entire day is telling little people to stop doing things.

    But yay for you to make writing a priority around all your other stuff. The balance is so hard sometimes.

  • 3. Mel  |  October 17, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Amanda-Thank you and right now it’s rough, but I’m looking forward to August where I only have to work. *sigh* sadly that what I’m looking forward to WORKING only.

  • 4. Mel  |  October 17, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Lauren-The balance is hard, but I know what I’m getting out of it nothing else I can do to replace it would give me the same feeling.

  • 5. Lynn  |  October 17, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    I applaud you. Working and going to school – and raising kids! It’s hard work. I know! I went to school full time and worked full-time for 4 years. Now I just work all the time, oh, and deal with the kids still.

    Congrats on still managing to work in the writing.

  • 6. Michelle Hasker  |  October 18, 2007 at 3:32 am

    *hugs*
    your day sounds so busy. I’m glad you find time to write. Your post cracked me up though with the spawn of satan comments. If your humor comes through in your writing I can’t wait to read your stuff 🙂
    Good job finding that time to write and keep up the excellent work.

  • 7. Kate Diamond  |  October 18, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Finding the time. It’s a pain, isn’t it? Laughed at your daily annoyances; it’s very unique to you and yet… somehow, I know exactly how you feel.

  • 8. Merry  |  October 18, 2007 at 7:36 am

    It’s good that you can still make time for writing with such a hectic schedule (and handy that you can do the ‘sleep with the eyes open’ trick as well! Power naps are very good for you!) ;o)

  • 9. Mel  |  October 18, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Lynn-thanks for the support. But to be honest I realized writing is just another part time job. I’m not getting paid to do it yet, but its still something I need to show up every day for.

  • 10. Mel  |  October 18, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Michelle-Mornings and I have a long standing argument. It comes to soon and I can’t talk it into coming later. So we’ve been at a standstill for quite some time. I’ve passed it on to my son. And to make the world fair (since my daughter is a morning person) I’ve passed my son on to my daughter.

    As far as my humor is concerned it follows me every where. I wouldn’t be able to do what I have to do every day if I didn’t bring it with me.

  • 11. Mel  |  October 18, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Kate-One thing I realized as a writer since it doesn’t bring in the dough is that most other authors have to juggle. How well and how often an author juggle depends on how much they want it.

    Writing (at least to me) is an all or nothing profession. In my free time I’m a data entry tech. I can be honest and say I don’t put my all into it. Now don’t tell my supervisor because she thinks I do. If she only knew.

  • 12. Mel  |  October 18, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Merry- When I burnt myself out last year I decided sleep IS very important and I can’t cheat myself on it. I came up with sleeping with my eyes open. Now I’ll just call it a Powernap.

  • 13. liz fenwick  |  October 18, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    I am shattered just reading your day….i bow humbly before you! You are amazing 🙂

  • 14. Edie  |  October 18, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Mel, I bow down to you. Your day makes mine look like a cake walk. You inspire me.

  • 15. Mel  |  October 18, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Liz-No bowing necessary, unless YOU feel it’s necessary, because then I’ll accept the praise with modesty.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

