THE OLD ADAGE

October 15, 2007 at 4:19 pm 10 comments

Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.
~E.L. Doctorow

So true, because the old adage I’m talking about deals with what to do while you are waiting. Right now I’m waiting for the contract to go through so I can start the process of revisions with my editor. Little efficient me, I’ve gone over the first three chapters she sent me a few months ago to get a feel of how she edits. I’ve agreed to everything, but exclamation points added. I’ve clarified things I mucked up in the process of executing a good line. I’m now done until she approves them. And still I’m waiting for the rest.

So what are my plans now?

I know it’s crazy, but I’ve joined the 70 Days of Sweat again. Didn’t I just finish a book? Am I not looking at extensive revisions? Yes to both questions and still I want to write another book. I’m looking at writing another 54k this year. To understand re-read today’s quote. The WIP I’ve titled is Overworked and Underlaid. I absolutely love that title. I’ve gotten down the first three chapters. I’m going for broke and trying to finish the fourth chapter. The hardest chapter to write because now the meat of the story begins. I’m sending my characters on the journey of change.

God, help me and my imagination. I’ve got 750 words to write today. What in the hell was I thinking?

Oh, yeah, a form of distraction while I wait. Again, re-read today’s quote.

Entry filed under: new books, old adage, revising.

HEROES AND DROOL A DAY IN THE LIFE

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  October 15, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Melissa,
    Just stopping by to give some encouragement for the 70 days of sweat! Hope you have a great writing day. I just finished (which I so didn’t think I’d be able to get done so soon) So anyway! Have a great one!

    Michelle

  • 2. Melissa  |  October 15, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Mel!
    You can do it. You know what they say? The busiest people are always the people who accomplish the most.
    Yeah, that pisses me off too, but just keep your butt in the chair and hands on the keyboard:)
    Good Luck!

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    LOVE the title!

  • 4. Mel  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Michelle-Does a synopsis count? Because I actually wrote one before the story was done and I had too many details cluttering my brain. I’m trying something new. I have yet to know if I’m going to crash and burn.

  • 5. Mel  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Melissa-I hate those people, they make me look like a slacker.

  • 6. Mel  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Jennifer- I absolutely love this title. The heroine is a work-aholic and I laughed when I thought about it. I’m just hoping people won’t get the impression it’s an erotic romance.

  • 7. Tex  |  October 16, 2007 at 1:04 am

    I love the title, too. Made me smile. Secretly.
    I’m confused–I thought you were doing NaNoWriMo with the WWFW bunch.

    Anyway, a very nice blog, and I love all the pictures. If you have revisions to make, does that mean we have a sale to celebrate? I celebrate everyone’s victories. Love celebrations. Love victories.

    Tex

  • 8. raine  |  October 17, 2007 at 5:12 am

    Do what you can do, babe–and it IS a good idea to have something else going while you’re waiting.

  • 9. Mel  |  October 17, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Tex- It was a huge party here. That blog post garnered the most comments I ever received.

  • 10. Mel  |  October 17, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Raine-I figured when all is said and done I’ll have something else to offer my editor. It’s nice having one book published, but I’m building a career.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

